Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was yum. I suggest using raspberry Jello, rather than strawberry to minimize any imitation strawberry taste. I used a white cake mix (Duncan Hines Pudding in the Mix) and it was very moist and tasty. I understand what people are saying about a "rubbery" consistency, but that goes away if you warm it slightly , which makes it perfect for a la mode! Super easy, and I even subbed a few frozen strawberries because I was short on fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKCB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Nice on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I decided to make this for a BBQ we were having at our house. I read through the reviews and took the advice of those who cut the jell-o to 3oz., sugared and added more strawberries. It turned out pretty good! Everyone seemed to like it. My only gripe is that it was a little messy when first done. We dubbed it Murder Cake, and Blood Cake (LOL) due to the strawberry goo mess I made when trying to flip it out of the pan. But I left it in the fridge over night and it settled quite nicely. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
this cake is delicious and easy to make , love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Every time I make this cake it is a hit. Great for summer picnics. I serve it with homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yum! This really surprised me. I thought it might taste really artificial with that ingredient list, but everything came together and made quite the delicious dessert. Tastes great right out of the fridge; a perfect sweet for a BBQ. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is incredibly easy to make and super delicious. Great company dish or take to a party/get together. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These turned out really moist and full of strawberry! I had my boyfriend help me make these and it was a ton of fun using jello and marshmallows to make a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Having followed the recipe exactly as written, the strawberry layer was rubbery as was the cake. No amount of RediWhip could overcome the fake strawberry taste of the jello. There has to be a better made-from-scratch recipe for a strawberry upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Wonderful! Make it all the time! Thanks for this great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States