Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this for Mother's Day and it was delicious! It had a very strong strawberry taste that was so yummy! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I am no baker and I made this cake today with stawberries we picked from a local farm. It was terrific but I made some changes and will make more in the future. 1. add more berries 2. use 1/2 flavored and 1/2 unflavored gellatin all strawberry is too sweet for me. 3. I will be adding some lemon zest and 2 minced basil leaves to the strawberry mixture for brightness and complexity. 4. Because i always have issues getting things out of the pan, I lined the bottom with parchment paper and it tipped out perfectly. This will probably ebcome my new go to for potlucks when I need to bring a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was good and easy, served with Cool Whip, warm. Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I've made this 2x now, and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
After reading the reviews I had very high expectations. After making it, I agree it was good but not great. It doesn't exactly have great visual presentation either. I followed many of the suggestions for adjustment and was glad I did. I will keep the recipe but not as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puako Sunset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Simple and Delicious! Also works in cupcake form (without the papers of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
has anyone used a white cake mix? This is what I have. Recipe sounds delicious and I am anxious to make. Have all ingredients but have "white cake mix" not yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was a really good cake. I'm not a fan of pineapple upside down cake, so this is a really good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I served this at a neighborhood cookout yesterday, thinking the kids would love it. I had a bunch of strawberries getting ripe in my fridge and thought this was a perfect recipe to try. One neighbor said it reminded him of a rhubarb cake he'd had as a kid, and the recipe sounds very similar. I only used half the pack of strawberry jello and don't think the artificial flavor was overpowering, however, like some reviewers have said, the topping was rubbery and that was distracting. It tasted good- went well with whipped cream- and I altered the normal box cake recipe (from the Cake Doctor book) which made the cake super moist, but I'm not so sure I love how the strawberry topping turned out. The kids did like it, but probably won't make it again. I was hoping it would have turned out more like pineapple upside-down cake with more of a fresh strawberry kick, but the jello/marshmallow topping wasn't as great as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nealkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States