Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I've made this twice and discovered two very important parts of the recipe that you can *not* overlook: 1) Use fresh strawberries or your own frozen. Commercially frozen doesn't interact as well with the Jello for some reason. 2) MASH the strawberries. The juice has to be released or there's nothing to break down the gelatin and you get a very unpleasant texture on the top of your cake. If your strawberries aren't very juicy, sprinkle a little sugar on them before mashing and let them set for an hour or so - the juice will come out. The cake by itself is pretty, but it does need whipped cream or ice cream (heat the cake up slightly) to finish it off for eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
654 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
OK, first of all. OMG, this cake was SO good. I just got done making it, not only is it freakin' gorgeous as it is fresh out of the oven, it -tastes- amazing. It's moist and delicious. The jello trickling throughout the cake was awesome. I'm totally in love with this recipe. It's incredibly simple too! I made a few changes ONLY and only because I really wanted to try this and didn't have exactly what you called for. I replaced your strawberries with frozen (thawed) strawberry slices I had on hand. I also didn't have strawberry jello, I used what I did have; Raspberry. I love how this cake has marshmallows in it. I wasn't sure how that was going to turn out but as it is, it adds crunch when you're not expecting it. Sooooo yummy. This cake was again, super easy to make and loads of fun. Each step from placing the strawberries to pouring the cake batter was neat. I smiled the whole time in excitement to try this cake. I just had the first piece and I give you 5 stars. :) Thank you for sharing this with the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Wonderful! I add about a cup extra of mini marshmallows, cut the cake in half and stack it to make a "layer" cake, then spread whipped cream around the sides. We've made this four times over the past month, and people have raved about it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This cake is awesome!!! I've made it twice now. The first time I made it it was for my boyfriends Mom's birthday!!! Talk about pressure!!! I made backup cupcakes in case the cake didn't turn out well. NO ONE TOUCHED THE CUPCAKES! Everyone LOVED this cake! I made it exactly as directed and it was awesome. I used a non stick baking pan and made sure to let it cool for twenty minutes before turning over on to a serving dish. I served slightly warm with French Vanilla ice cream and today my boyfriend and his sister requested it for dessert and once again it was great! Thank You for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Super delicious! I was surprised at how the marshmallows combine with the cake mix and you cant really tell they are in the ingredients once its cooked. I expected this to be overly sweet but it wasnt! I used fresh strawberries that I sliced into thin strips. Next time I will add more strawberries though, not enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This cake turned out BEAUTIFULLY. This was my first attempt at an upside down cake and I am so pleased with the result. I made a chocolate ganache and dipped the extra strawberries in it for the side. Then I drizzled a thin amount of the ganache lightly over the cake. Thank you for the recipe; my family and I love it. I will be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahiru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this cake for "my Mother's Day" dessert and it was wonderful! Since it was for a special occasion and the first time I tried the recipe, I did not try to turn it out of the pan. Nervous it wouldn't come out right. lol Just chilled it and cut it and we topped it with aerosol can whipping cream. YUMMY! Will be making this cake many more times for special meals, since this family does not need the calories or sugar. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Took to a potluck and got lots of requests for the recipe. Easy to make, quick except for baking time, not to expensive. Will definetly make again and next time I may add a can of drained crushed or tidbit pineapple to the strawberries. I used a glass casserole dish and it stuck pretty good so I just left it in the dish and served with a large spoon, it looked yummy. Would be great served warm ala mode. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was so easy, about as easy as it gets, and super delicious! We liked this better than my regular strawberry shortcake recipe. I followed the directions to a 'T' and it came out perfect. I made this the night before and refrigerated overnight after inverting it onto a serving platter. My kids and husband as well as a few others said they could eat this everyday. I want to experiment trying other berries. Thanks for sharing this wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Great recipe. Always get requests for the recipe. Theres room to modify and play around with the taste too. Play with the variation on jello flavors and fruit toppings! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States