Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Yum! This recipe was great! I used strawberry cake and it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have to give it a definite thumbs DOWN! It was not appealing to look at and the taste left much to be desired. The cake was soggy and looked like a mess! Very unappealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TESSLYNN
Home Town: Robins, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Really liked this cake, however I thought it needed to be slightly sweeter....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We were not impressed at all with this recipe. I thought this recipe sounded good & because of the high rating I already purchased all of the ingredients before I read some of the negative reviews. I wish I would've read them first but honestly, because of the high rating I would've more than likely still proceeded with it. The gelatin gives it a strong artificial taste that over powers the taste of the fresh berries. Based on other reviews, I onky used 1 pack of gelatin. I would think that using 1/2 of a pack would be more than enough! Because even using 1/2 it still seemed like too much! I could not imagine sprinkling double that in this cake! That is over kill! As for the marshmallows, I'm really uncertain on what results. I. I they were supposed to have in the cake because you would never notice they're in there at all! They dissappear during baking! I greased the pan really good with crisco (because of all the reviewers saying they had major problems with the cake sticking) and I didn't have the slightest difficulty, the cake slid right out! The cake tasted awful & I hate to say it but I don't think there's any way to tweak it to make it better. There's no way I would serve this to anyone. It was unedible after baking but like some of the reviewers said if you cool it in the fridge & later eat it cold with whipped cream it is ok. We did that so it wouldn't be wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Tried this recipe yesterday for a pot luck. Washing and hulling the strawberries took the most time. But otherwise pretty easy. I did not like the taste of the cake at all. I wonder if a white cake would have been better, it LOOKS like white cake in the picture and not a yellow. My husband liked the cake very much, but was surprised it was strawberries and not cherries. Another person mentioned also, they thought it was cherries. I won't be making this again. There are others out there that are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was pretty good. It was very moist and my company really liked it. It needed a little something more but not sure what it is, but still it was good. We put coolwhip on the top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Loved this cake. So did everyone else! I WAS wondering what did happen to the mini marshmallows when it baked... :-) Being that they disappear, why put them in there? I didn't taste them, hmmm. Anyway, will be making many more times! Even picky honey liked it.Very tasty & fresh. A step-up from just the pineapple that everybody is used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
WHAT A MESS!!! The only reason it gets two stars is for the flavor which is quite good. But the berry-jello mix didn't set and it ran all over the plate when I turned it out. Would have been better off leaving it in the pan and spooning it out. For my money, I'll stick to a good old Strawberry Shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
WOW!! Every strawberry season I hunt for the perfect strawberry dessert and have yet to find it, until now! This was the most delicious strawberry cake I have ever eaten and by far, the easiest and quickest to prepare. Followed the recipe, although I did not measure the strawberries, I just filled up the bottom and I used a bundt pan. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Very Good! I followed the recipe to a tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States