Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was good and easy, served with Cool Whip, warm. Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I've made this 2x now, and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
After reading the reviews I had very high expectations. After making it, I agree it was good but not great. It doesn't exactly have great visual presentation either. I followed many of the suggestions for adjustment and was glad I did. I will keep the recipe but not as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Simple and Delicious! Also works in cupcake form (without the papers of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
has anyone used a white cake mix? This is what I have. Recipe sounds delicious and I am anxious to make. Have all ingredients but have "white cake mix" not yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was a really good cake. I'm not a fan of pineapple upside down cake, so this is a really good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I served this at a neighborhood cookout yesterday, thinking the kids would love it. I had a bunch of strawberries getting ripe in my fridge and thought this was a perfect recipe to try. One neighbor said it reminded him of a rhubarb cake he'd had as a kid, and the recipe sounds very similar. I only used half the pack of strawberry jello and don't think the artificial flavor was overpowering, however, like some reviewers have said, the topping was rubbery and that was distracting. It tasted good- went well with whipped cream- and I altered the normal box cake recipe (from the Cake Doctor book) which made the cake super moist, but I'm not so sure I love how the strawberry topping turned out. The kids did like it, but probably won't make it again. I was hoping it would have turned out more like pineapple upside-down cake with more of a fresh strawberry kick, but the jello/marshmallow topping wasn't as great as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nealkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The cake did not turn out well.The strawberries turned into a jelly like goo.It tasted ok, I'm glade I did not make it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made it for the family and then a potluck every drop was eaten and everyone raved how good it was. I did extra strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bigfork, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States