Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This cake is incredible, and my guests LOVED it! I made a couple of adjustments. To the batter: I microwaved a 2 cup measuring cup full of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup water for a minute, stirred and then blended into the batter. I added 1 cup more marshmallows and baked the cake in a 10" X 2". It took about 1:5 minutes before the knife came out mostly clean, but I served it hot with a pile of whipped cream. Next time I'll try it with ice cream! The top (which becomes the bottom) was crunchy while the center was like chocolate lava cake- moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baxtersbistro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Awesome cake. I put cool whip on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Garrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I tried this recipe and was quite pleased! only thing I recommend is measure the berries after you mash them and I also added more marshmallows and more strawberries and another thing I did different was to use my own cake from scratch! I used the recipe for Classic yellow sheet cake from Americas Test Kitchen Baking Book, as I am not a big fan of Box cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Taste great and was very moist. Mine didn't turn out so pretty but I think that's because I didn't have a flat platter and didn't center it very well so it kind of crunched up. But who cares?!!! I wasn't entering it in an art competition. We gobbled it up so fast that no one would have known if it had looked pretty to begin with! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coopersville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Yum! This recipe was great! I used strawberry cake and it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have to give it a definite thumbs DOWN! It was not appealing to look at and the taste left much to be desired. The cake was soggy and looked like a mess! Very unappealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TESSLYNN
Home Town: Robins, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Really liked this cake, however I thought it needed to be slightly sweeter....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
We were not impressed at all with this recipe. I thought this recipe sounded good & because of the high rating I already purchased all of the ingredients before I read some of the negative reviews. I wish I would've read them first but honestly, because of the high rating I would've more than likely still proceeded with it. The gelatin gives it a strong artificial taste that over powers the taste of the fresh berries. Based on other reviews, I onky used 1 pack of gelatin. I would think that using 1/2 of a pack would be more than enough! Because even using 1/2 it still seemed like too much! I could not imagine sprinkling double that in this cake! That is over kill! As for the marshmallows, I'm really uncertain on what results. I. I they were supposed to have in the cake because you would never notice they're in there at all! They dissappear during baking! I greased the pan really good with crisco (because of all the reviewers saying they had major problems with the cake sticking) and I didn't have the slightest difficulty, the cake slid right out! The cake tasted awful & I hate to say it but I don't think there's any way to tweak it to make it better. There's no way I would serve this to anyone. It was unedible after baking but like some of the reviewers said if you cool it in the fridge & later eat it cold with whipped cream it is ok. We did that so it wouldn't be wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Tried this recipe yesterday for a pot luck. Washing and hulling the strawberries took the most time. But otherwise pretty easy. I did not like the taste of the cake at all. I wonder if a white cake would have been better, it LOOKS like white cake in the picture and not a yellow. My husband liked the cake very much, but was surprised it was strawberries and not cherries. Another person mentioned also, they thought it was cherries. I won't be making this again. There are others out there that are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was pretty good. It was very moist and my company really liked it. It needed a little something more but not sure what it is, but still it was good. We put coolwhip on the top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States