Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
*Drool* Served this cake at a party last night w/ additional fresh strawberries and whipped cream for garnish, and it disappeared fast! I let my strawberries sit under a sprinkle of sugar til I mashed them w/ the back of a fork. It didn't occur to me that I had the 3 oz. packet of strawberry gelatin instead of the 6 oz. the recipe calls for, so I'm not sure if that changed the end result all that much, but either way, the strawberry, the marshmellow ... the cake, OH MY! Can't wait to try this cake again w/ a different combo of fruit to gelatin flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was "pretty good". It was something different, but not the best thing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this cake was very easy and refreshing, I have used french vanilla and yellow cake mix to make it and both are very good. I also add whip cream on the top and serve it cold great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummy!!!!!! Wouldn't change a thing. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a very simple, very sweet recipe. The marshmallows blend in with the sauce and you cannot even tell they're there! I crushed my strawberries a bit much, so they totally dissolved the marshmallows during cooking, therefore I did not have the crunch others have mentioned. It was really very good, and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Best strawberry cake ever!! Have made many times since I found the recipe on Allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this for a 3rd of July party - everyone loved it, it was just okay for me. Not sure what the marshmallows add. I would make it again, but I prefer my strawberries in a trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made this for my husbands birthday because he like fruit desserts and the told me that he wants this cake every year for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great and easy recipe!!! Hubby loved it! We have the best fresh strawberries around here all summer long. Couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I didn't feel this was an improvement on regular old strawberry shortcake....a lot of extra sugar, calories, and chemicals without any extra taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States