Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I've had this recipe in my box for quite awhile anticipating it. I was disappointed. My SIL said it best..."it tastes like strawberry jam on cake" would have been better off just making a poke cake. It was edible, but nothing special. It was just as pretty as the picture and came out of the pan perfectly. I served it slightly warm and with vanilla ice cream as suggested...still, it was no ones' favorite and we all love strawberries. It wasn't a hit with our family. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! Super simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The flavor is good, but didn't care for the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My family went nuts over this. I used 3 cups instead of 2 of the strawberries, 2 didn't fill my pan. Otherwise I followed exactly and it turned out amazing. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reikari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
SOOOOO YUMMY! Recipe is perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Moss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I've made this a few times now and the latest for 4th of July. I lightly sprayed a glass 13x9 pan with cooking spray. Doubled the strawberries and used an egg slicer to help chop them up and mashed about half, then mixed with fat free strawberry jello before spreading on the bottom. Instead of oil in the cake mix I used applesauce to cut some calories. Then I served it with lite whipped topping and sprinkled with fresh blueberries. This was my red white and blue dessert - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Pretty good! I liked it but it did not go over well with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wow! We loved this. Made for my MIL to celebrate her retirement. I made it exactly as written except that I only had a 3 ounce box of gelatin. It worked out perfect! Very easy to turn out of the cake. The leftover cake was ever better the next day. Very moist, delicious cake. My husband has already requested it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I mashed strawberries with potato masher. Strawberries were very watery. Had to cook well over 50 minutes to cook centre of cake. When I turned it out it was no pretty and sloppy. Served it in bowl by cutting up cake and placing in large glass bowl and layering it with cool whip. Looked like a triple. Tasted nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyqdeb61
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I Just turned cake over and the smell is sooooo wonderful! I added some lemon juice to the water to make the amount it amount called for and a few more berries..added some blue for color since it was a 4th of July party..I plan on decorationg with whip cream!! Can't wait to try a whole piece..the nibble was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States