Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Unbelievable cake... I can't say enough good about this recipe.. The only thing I did different was use a Bundt pan, lightly crush 1 cup of FRESH strawberries and 2 cups of sliced FRESH strawberries. I also toss my strawberries in the jello then spread in the bottom of a geased and floured Bundt pan.. I then followed as described in recipe.. Let cool for 20 minutes and poured out on serving plate... No sticking at all. Cake was BEAUTIFUL... I put in refrigerator for about 2 hours before serving.. Not on piece was left. My family is still talking about it.... YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovnsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
A big hit at our Memorial Day picnic yesterday! The only thing I did differently was add a dollop of cool whip to each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This cake is amazing!I used freshed strawberries and after I chopped them up, I put them in a bowl and sprinkled a little sugar on them. To crush them, I used a small biscuit cutter and went to town. Worked great. I used big marshmallows and cut them into fours because that's all I had on hand. I baked into a bundt pan and the marshmallows float to the top and make an awesome crunch crust. I also used a 3 oz raspberry jell-o and French vanilla cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is a great idea, but i dont know WHY you would use marshmallows, DONT! I did, and all of them "floated" to the center of the cake, making a big goopy un-bakable center. I then scooped out the entire center of the cake and finished baking it. Had I not done that the entire cake NEVER would've finished baking. It was alright, but I dont think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Very easy recipe. Cake was very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
very good....next time i will use a bundt cake pan and double the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sfleebite
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
It was DELICIOUS. The only thing I did differently was I mixed 1/4 of the strawberry gelatin in with the cake mix instead of on the crushed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought it was very tasty!! Tasted like strawbery shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I wanted SO bad to like this cake but couldn't get past the fake tasting strawberry goo. Sad to have wasted such wonderful strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
The cake was extremely easy to make, came out looking very pretty and tasted good. I made it for a friend's birthday and everyone enjoyed it. The reason I give this recipe only 3 stars is because it does, understandably, taste like a box cake. I will make this cake again only if I'm very short on time. The slight change I made was to mix some of the gelatin powder in with the strawberries as I was crushing them and to reduce the total amount of gelatin powder by about 1/3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States