Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wow! We loved this. Made for my MIL to celebrate her retirement. I made it exactly as written except that I only had a 3 ounce box of gelatin. It worked out perfect! Very easy to turn out of the cake. The leftover cake was ever better the next day. Very moist, delicious cake. My husband has already requested it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I mashed strawberries with potato masher. Strawberries were very watery. Had to cook well over 50 minutes to cook centre of cake. When I turned it out it was no pretty and sloppy. Served it in bowl by cutting up cake and placing in large glass bowl and layering it with cool whip. Looked like a triple. Tasted nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyqdeb61
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I Just turned cake over and the smell is sooooo wonderful! I added some lemon juice to the water to make the amount it amount called for and a few more berries..added some blue for color since it was a 4th of July party..I plan on decorationg with whip cream!! Can't wait to try a whole piece..the nibble was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Tasty but maybe next time subtract the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Simple, yet so delicious you will want to lick the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I was so excited to try this, but what a waste of perfectly good strawberries! I knew as I poured all that super sweet gelatin mix over my gorgeous berries that something was just wrong. Way, way tooo sweet and not pretty at all. Made it for Memorial Day w/e picnic and everyone, including me, chose my friend's sweetened strawberries and home made poundcake over this mess. So sweet, tasted like strawberry preserves. Not a keeper for us. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was great! I used a lemon cake mix and only 3 oz. pkg. of gelatin and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I really liked this cake because it was so easy to make with really nice results. My husband and I don't eat cake often, so I made two smaller cakes using 8" round cake pans. They only had to cook for about 35 minutes. I was able to share them with my neighbors at a weekend gathering and with my co-workers on Monday morning! I might try to make individual cakes using my muffin tins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Tastes amazing! I made multiple desserts today and used up all of my 9x13s. I used two 9' circle pans and while the cake layer was a bit thinner, the taste was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Very moist and so easy. I will be making this again. Would like to give it a try with other fruits and jello flavors perhaps peach or blueberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States