Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I debated between 4 and 5 stars. Here is the reason why: The taste was very good but it was too wet. Even following the directions of using paper towel to drain excess juice from the strawberries I still had to keep adding more flour in order to be able to knead it. I must have added at a minimum about 1/2 cup of flour. I did so a little at a time as I was feeling for it to become the right consistency to allow kneading. The end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are amazing!!! I replaced milk with buttermilk and added mini white chocolate chips. I didn't need the dough. I just scooped it onto individual scones. The batter was wet but scoopable. It yield 14 scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These were excellent. I didn't have cream or lemons on hand the first time I made them, so I substituted 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt for the cream and vanilla (second time used 1/2 cup strawberry yogurt). This also made them a bit healthier. In place of the lemon zest, I added a little lemon juice to the powdered sugar glaze I made. The dough was very crumbly when I dumped it onto the counter because yogurt is thicker than cream. It didn't mix in as well, so I had to mix it by hand on the counter to make sure the moisture was evenly distributed. I made these for my wife for Mother's Day breakfast, and she LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made Fresh Peach Scones. Because the peaches were crisp, I did not have to worry about extra moisture! I really liked the consistency of the dough and the taste of the nutmeg in this. This is the recipe I would choose to use for Peaches and Cream Scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have made this recipe several times now. The first time I made it just as written and although it was very yummy the dough was wet. The strawberries you use directly effect the outcome! If you have very ripe sweet berries you will get a wet and yummy dough, if you get some that rea not so ripe you will have less trouble with moisture but the taste will not be as good. My final solution was to use a combination of dried strawberries and dried strawberry flavored crasins. YUM! Also faboo with dried blueberries. (Be sure to mince them a bit so they are not so big.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonhillcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made a slight variation of these by using a cup of oats ground instead of 1 c of flour. I also reduced the butter to 3 T. They usually only have to cook for about 14 min, watch them closely. My husband loves strawerry muffins, and thought these were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were great! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T. I did not knead the dough as long as suggested, nor did I add much more flower. The dough was quite sticky and lumpy (not smooth) when I placed it on the baking sheet with parchment. I was worried that too much flour and kneading would toughen it. In the end they had a lumpy appearance, but were wonderful none the less. (Always use fresh baking soda.. discard an open can after 8-12 months.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Delicious! I also didn't knead the dough too much. I find that to get the consistency that I like (which is similar to a flaky biscuit); the dough can't be over worked. Also, keep your butter and cream cold! After adding the vanilla to the cream, put it back in the fridge. Keep the butter in the fridge (or even the freezer if you want) until it's time to use. Oh, and I love the nutmeg in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I am debating between a 4 and 5 for this. I cooked for about 15 minutes, and they were very moist scones. I like them this way, so it was great, but not exactly what I usually expect from scones. I substituted the cream for vanilla yoghurt, and a little bit of half and half. I also used a little more salt then it called for. Did not have a blender, so I just chopped the butter into very small cubes. This turned out fine, but I did have to add a little extra yoghurt. Also, dough was very wet, but this still turned out fine, I just couldn't really cut it, more just shape it. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
They looked wonderful, but were not very flavorful. Needs more strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tstorm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States