Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used raspberries and AHHH what a disaster. Don' do it! I had to add soooo much extra flour because the dough was way too wet and then they turned a gray color because of the raspberries mixing in. I don't think I would try this recipe again even with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Just made scones for the first time... these were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except for the lemon zest, but the scones tasted amazing. Might be my new favorite thing to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have made this recipe several times now. The first time I made it just as written and although it was very yummy the dough was wet. The strawberries you use directly effect the outcome! If you have very ripe sweet berries you will get a wet and yummy dough, if you get some that rea not so ripe you will have less trouble with moisture but the taste will not be as good. My final solution was to use a combination of dried strawberries and dried strawberry flavored crasins. YUM! Also faboo with dried blueberries. (Be sure to mince them a bit so they are not so big.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonhillcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Simply gooey, unkneadable dough that requires extra flour but still doesn't work very well. These things certainly don't bake in 16 minutes! As far as taste goes, they're dull. I didn't like the nutmeg either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Chatte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I am debating between a 4 and 5 for this. I cooked for about 15 minutes, and they were very moist scones. I like them this way, so it was great, but not exactly what I usually expect from scones. I substituted the cream for vanilla yoghurt, and a little bit of half and half. I also used a little more salt then it called for. Did not have a blender, so I just chopped the butter into very small cubes. This turned out fine, but I did have to add a little extra yoghurt. Also, dough was very wet, but this still turned out fine, I just couldn't really cut it, more just shape it. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These were excellent. I didn't have cream or lemons on hand the first time I made them, so I substituted 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt for the cream and vanilla (second time used 1/2 cup strawberry yogurt). This also made them a bit healthier. In place of the lemon zest, I added a little lemon juice to the powdered sugar glaze I made. The dough was very crumbly when I dumped it onto the counter because yogurt is thicker than cream. It didn't mix in as well, so I had to mix it by hand on the counter to make sure the moisture was evenly distributed. I made these for my wife for Mother's Day breakfast, and she LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made a slight variation of these by using a cup of oats ground instead of 1 c of flour. I also reduced the butter to 3 T. They usually only have to cook for about 14 min, watch them closely. My husband loves strawerry muffins, and thought these were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
They looked wonderful, but were not very flavorful. Needs more strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tstorm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very delicious I really enjoyed it. Also added a little nutella to the top delicious! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe, but used whole wheat flour, substituted the strawberries for blackberries, omitted the lemon zest and added 2 tablespoons of blueberry yogurt. The scones turned out moist and had a nice wheat texture to them. Served with a little honey, it makes for a delicious, filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States