Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I debated between 4 and 5 stars. Here is the reason why: The taste was very good but it was too wet. Even following the directions of using paper towel to drain excess juice from the strawberries I still had to keep adding more flour in order to be able to knead it. I must have added at a minimum about 1/2 cup of flour. I did so a little at a time as I was feeling for it to become the right consistency to allow kneading. The end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made a slight variation of these by using a cup of oats ground instead of 1 c of flour. I also reduced the butter to 3 T. They usually only have to cook for about 14 min, watch them closely. My husband loves strawerry muffins, and thought these were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were great! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T. I did not knead the dough as long as suggested, nor did I add much more flower. The dough was quite sticky and lumpy (not smooth) when I placed it on the baking sheet with parchment. I was worried that too much flour and kneading would toughen it. In the end they had a lumpy appearance, but were wonderful none the less. (Always use fresh baking soda.. discard an open can after 8-12 months.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are amazing!!! I replaced milk with buttermilk and added mini white chocolate chips. I didn't need the dough. I just scooped it onto individual scones. The batter was wet but scoopable. It yield 14 scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made Fresh Peach Scones. Because the peaches were crisp, I did not have to worry about extra moisture! I really liked the consistency of the dough and the taste of the nutmeg in this. This is the recipe I would choose to use for Peaches and Cream Scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Though I substituted buttermilk for the cream and added a little too much, making the dough too moist, these were still a hit. I also substituted grated orange peel for the lemon, but the scones didn't suffer for it. I'm glad to have my own strawberry plants; no doubt I'll make these with every crop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I used light raspberry yogurt instead of cream and orange instead of lemon. The dough was a little wet making it hard to work with but the end result was delicious and I would recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe, but used whole wheat flour, substituted the strawberries for blackberries, omitted the lemon zest and added 2 tablespoons of blueberry yogurt. The scones turned out moist and had a nice wheat texture to them. Served with a little honey, it makes for a delicious, filling breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These were excellent. I didn't have cream or lemons on hand the first time I made them, so I substituted 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt for the cream and vanilla (second time used 1/2 cup strawberry yogurt). This also made them a bit healthier. In place of the lemon zest, I added a little lemon juice to the powdered sugar glaze I made. The dough was very crumbly when I dumped it onto the counter because yogurt is thicker than cream. It didn't mix in as well, so I had to mix it by hand on the counter to make sure the moisture was evenly distributed. I made these for my wife for Mother's Day breakfast, and she LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I am debating between a 4 and 5 for this. I cooked for about 15 minutes, and they were very moist scones. I like them this way, so it was great, but not exactly what I usually expect from scones. I substituted the cream for vanilla yoghurt, and a little bit of half and half. I also used a little more salt then it called for. Did not have a blender, so I just chopped the butter into very small cubes. This turned out fine, but I did have to add a little extra yoghurt. Also, dough was very wet, but this still turned out fine, I just couldn't really cut it, more just shape it. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States