Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I debated between 4 and 5 stars. Here is the reason why: The taste was very good but it was too wet. Even following the directions of using paper towel to drain excess juice from the strawberries I still had to keep adding more flour in order to be able to knead it. I must have added at a minimum about 1/2 cup of flour. I did so a little at a time as I was feeling for it to become the right consistency to allow kneading. The end result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I didn't care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POISONBLACK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were great! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T. I did not knead the dough as long as suggested, nor did I add much more flower. The dough was quite sticky and lumpy (not smooth) when I placed it on the baking sheet with parchment. I was worried that too much flour and kneading would toughen it. In the end they had a lumpy appearance, but were wonderful none the less. (Always use fresh baking soda.. discard an open can after 8-12 months.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
These are amazing!!! I replaced milk with buttermilk and added mini white chocolate chips. I didn't need the dough. I just scooped it onto individual scones. The batter was wet but scoopable. It yield 14 scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made Fresh Peach Scones. Because the peaches were crisp, I did not have to worry about extra moisture! I really liked the consistency of the dough and the taste of the nutmeg in this. This is the recipe I would choose to use for Peaches and Cream Scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Though I substituted buttermilk for the cream and added a little too much, making the dough too moist, these were still a hit. I also substituted grated orange peel for the lemon, but the scones didn't suffer for it. I'm glad to have my own strawberry plants; no doubt I'll make these with every crop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used orange peel instead of lemon and heavy cream instead of light and they turned out fine. Whenever I make scones, I skip the kneading and just spoon the dough on the parchment. They still taste great and have a pleasant texture. Thanks for this fun use of my summer strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
After reading reviews about the dough being sticky, I didn't use the full amount of cream. I just added a little at a time until I got the consistency I wanted. I didn't knead the dough for as long as suggested either. My unexpected visitors really enjoyed these. Thankyou Annie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Glad I read the reviews first. I used 1/3 cup half and half instead of the 1/2 cup called for and it worked fine. Really great flavor probably because of the fresh strawberries. I think I still like the Simple Scones recipe on this site better even though that recipe calls for an egg and more butter. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Delicious! I also didn't knead the dough too much. I find that to get the consistency that I like (which is similar to a flaky biscuit); the dough can't be over worked. Also, keep your butter and cream cold! After adding the vanilla to the cream, put it back in the fridge. Keep the butter in the fridge (or even the freezer if you want) until it's time to use. Oh, and I love the nutmeg in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Appie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States