Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Turned out great! I had a hard time understanding why everyone else said they were too wet. With only a half a cup of liquid to two cups of flour, mine were dry and I had to add more liquid. (Water). Nevertheless they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ejwalker
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made this with the cinnamon bun icing recipe I have. It was very fluffy, moist and tasty. Not overly sweet or doughy. I used a scone pan to make wedges and only had while wheat flour, but still, very good. I'll make it again for sure because it was easy and kids could definitely help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I debated between a 4 and a 5. I had never made scones before and this recipe seemed simple and easy. The hardest part was dicing up the strawberries! After I read many of the reviews I was worried that this wasn't going to work out but they are delicious. The first time I did them exactly as the recipe was written and they were yummy but just didn't seem right to me. So I added a bit more sugar (just short of a 1/2 cup) and increased the strawberries to a cup and 1/2. I also added an 1/8 tsp of strawberry extract to the cream/vanilla mixture. Let me tell you they are to die for! I have gotten so many raves about them. Now when you turn the mixture onto the counter I will admit that it's a crumbly mess - but hang in there - kneading and adding flour as you go. The mess will eventually become a lovely ball of dough. I shaped mine into a long rectangle and then cut them in triangles - this made them smaller. Watch these in the over closely! Not one second over 16 minutes or the bottoms will blacken. This is going to be one of my favorite go-to recipes and I can't wait to try it with other flavors!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Reduce fruit by half, and add Strawberry Preserves for better flavor-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Substituted 1c. Wheat flour for one of the cups of flour to make it healthier. Also used fresh blueberries rather than strawberries. Way too moist once i started kneeding the dough. I ended up adding about 1 cup extra flour. The scones where good but still too moist for my taste. Will try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
while these were pretty good, there were also a few problems. first, they are way too sweet to be authentic scones. while the lemon zest was a nice touch, it was sort of overwhelmed by the nutmeg. should i try them again, i will cut the sugar in half, eliminate the nutmeg, and substitute buttermilk for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I just made these scones and they were DELICIOUS! Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have nutmeg or light cream on hand. I used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon instead of nutmeg and for the cream I used 1/2 cup of half and half mixed with 2 tbsp of melted butter. I LOVED the hint of cinnamon and highly recommend it! As other reviews have stated, the dough is too wet to knead or to cut into shapes. Instead of putting it in a round cake pan and cutting it, I just scooped the batter onto the baking sheet and formed the scones there. I made a glaze that I spooned on top of the scones once they were out of the oven. Just used powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and a little lemon zest- it was the perfect touch! I wil DEFINITELY be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very good, but I'm trying to figure out what would make it GREAT! I did not knead. I try to keep my hands OUT of scones/biscuits as much as possible. Just get it to hold together and cut. I'm going to try again with some orange zest this time and perhaps a little glaze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
What a great scone recipe! Made these for the first time to take to a meeting this morning and everyone raved about how good they were and many requested the recipe. They were flavorful and moist. Definitely a keeper! Like other reviewers stated, I never knead the dough for biscuit type breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If you are looking for fresh berry flavor then skip this recipe. I used fresh, delicious berries from my back yard and the flavor of nutmeg completely overpowered the strawberries. Also, I think 1 1/2 t of lemon zest is too much. 1t or even 1/2 t would be plenty. I did, however like the consistency of the scone. Very light and crumbly. If I were to make them again I would leave out the nutmeg, cut the amount of zest, and leave the strawberries in bigger hunks to maximize their flavor. After all, isn't that the idea of a fresh strawberry scone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States