Fresh Strawberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made just a few changes(used frozen strawberries rather than fresh & used 4 Tbs of gelatin mix, since I was out of cornstarch) and everyone in the family loved it, including my sister-in-law, who does not "do pies". I might make it again next week, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
excellent, flavor will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
followed the advice of others and added cream cheese but you could barely taste it. When i cut into the pie it was so soupy it just came out as a big blob of strawberries and crust. Everyone still liked it but lacked appearance. I will continue to use the glaze for strawberry shortcake as it was great. I had more than would fit in the pie and saved some of the strawberries and glaze for later. my husband loved the strawberry mixture for ol fashiion strawberry shortcake. Overall not impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This turned out wonderfully despite my picked-too-green, sour, tough strawberries. I used a Keebler 2 extra servings graham cracker crust, added a layer of cream cheese on the bottom of it, and added an extra Tbs. of Jell-o to the glaze to compensate for the berries. Next time I think I will add the berries (halved or coarsely chunked)to the glaze while it is still cooking--perhaps this will soften and sweeten them. Considering how BAD my berries were, this was an EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I've made this a couple of times, and we love it. It's one of my husband's favorites, and he doesn't usually dig desserts! I don't get the bad reviews. I've made no changes, other than topping individual slices with lite Cool Whip, and my crust has never gotten soggy. Try as written, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I would probably rename this "Jello Pie"; the "glaze" is just Jello. I used the cream cheese in the bottom too, so it basically tasted like cream cheese with jello on top. Didn't taste bad, just really really strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I had to substitute 3 TB flour in place of the corn starch, and used strawberry-banana gelatin in place of strawberry. I also coated the crust with cream cheese before adding strawberries. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all--especially with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
this pie was great. i happen to find good strawberries in the middle of february in ohio! i added a little more gelatin because i am always afraid the pie won't set! next time i am going to try the cream cheese in the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We thought this was absolutely delicious!! I even made more pies for friends and they raved about them. This is definately a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
This recipe tastes just great... I also put creamcheese on the pie crust which add some richness to the pie.. BIG APPLAUSE FROM THE FAMILY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States