Fresh Strawberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
the kids really loved this and it came out beautifully. I followed the directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Mine turned out too gelatin-like. I found another recipe like this and it had all the same ingredients, but their recipe called for 2 cups of water instead. Most of the reviews for this other recipe changed the water to 1 1/4 cup water so I think that would help if you don't like your pie filling tasting like Jello. So disappointed! This is so easy to make, I was hoping for a home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Use cold water. Only use the amount of sugar you need based on sweetness of berries. For 1 pie do all the same but 2 tablespoons of strawberry jello. Cook the sugar, cornstarch & water until it's clear. It's not going to be completely clear - rather not white anymore. It will bubble slightly & then get it off the burner. It will be thickened fine. Then add your jello. All should be well unless you took your berries out of the fridge & tried to use them cold. They will weep & you'll end up with a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 75077
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This pie is simple and amazing. Served it at a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I am wondering, can I prepare this a day or two ahead of time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
My family used to make a pie like this when I was a kid, so I decided to try it for my family after coming across this recipe. The pie is good for if you want a fresh dessert that is not so many calories. This Jello mixture though did not fill 2 pie shells, not even close. I ended up finishing the pies and then having to quickly make more of the mixture to be able to fill the gaps in the pie shells/ cover all of the strawberries. The strawberries are plenty for 2 shells, just double the Jello mixture when you're making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This recipe was not good at all. The jello made it taste like a rubber pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Excellent recipie and a snap to make! One I will be making many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum! I made this tonight & just had my first bite. It is delicious. I followed MrsKWaters advice & added a bit more sugar to the glaze mix as my strawberries were tart. I also discarded the extra mix. I mounded the strawberries like the directions said, but the filling did not spread out like I thought it would...maybe that's because of discarding the extra glaze mix? But regardless, it is so good. Oh, and I just made the topping as directed, but used brown sugar, & a dash of white. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I found this had not enough strawberries for two pies (looked 'naked' almost) and entirely TOO sweet. Not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
seriously delicious! It screams summer when you used fresh picked strawberries...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States