Fresh Strawberry Pecan Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I thought this recipe sounded very interesting and was anxious to try it. I was VERY disappointed. The cookies are not a pretty pink color. Instead, they have a dirty look and they spread out way too much. To me, they were a big waste of strawberries and pecans. The taste was just so-so besides being very unattractive. I have a restaurant and I make cookies to set out on the counter as an impulse purchase and not one person bought them. That's the first time that's ever happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
These cookies came out nothing like I expected. I was very disappointed. I decided not to give them away for valentines day as I had hoped. The recipe was easy but the color was not attractive and the seeds from the berries added an unwelcome texture. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
The cookies did not have a nice pink color, and they spread out on the cookie sheet. But my second batch stood up better and turned a nice golden brown, so I wonder if you left the batter sit awhile if it would perform better overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
This is an excellent cookie! Soft and moist, and not extremely sweet. They always disappear when I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I think this would be better as strawberry pecan BREAD instead of cookies. Mine came out much too fluffy as cookies, and I finished the batch in muffin cups. Next time, I would put the whole thing in a loaf pan, increase the pecans to 1 cup and sprinkle more pecans on top. Then it might go well with a scoop of strawberry ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I didn't have an issue with any poor colouring, though I'm sure even if you did you could add red food colouring to the batter to recitfy it a little more. The fiancee loved the cookies when I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I was a little worried trying this recipe, given the bad reviews, but thankfully, the cookies came out great! I had more than a pint of strawberries, so pureed them all, and used roughly a cup of strawberry puree. I also substituted chocolate chips instead of the pecans. The cookies were a lovely pink colour, and weren't too runny, though a little on the cake-y side. Overall though, they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
We really liked these. They did spread out, you definitely don't want to put more than a tablespoon of dough per cookie. The resulting cookie is cake like, with a purplish hue. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Simple and tasty. These are a little on the cakey side, but I like that type of cookie. They are great as is, but I did add frosting (powdered sugar and strawberry juice) to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This cookie does not taste good at all. What a waste of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States