Fresh Strawberry-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessie
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Yum - what a fun summer cookie! I baked these on wax paper-covered cookie sheets to prevent sticking and to make for an easy cleanup. I had to make a few changes to get these just right, and they turned out delicious. I had to add about 1/4 cup of additional flour because the dough was rather runny. I also mixed in 1 cup of chocolate chips (who doesn't like chocolate-covered strawberries?!). I would also recommend refrigerating the dough for a bit to make for a fluffier, nicer-looking cookie. Very good, and I will be making these again soon. Thanks, Brittany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I used 2 cups flour, 1 tsp baking powder, light brown sugar, 1 cup mini chocolate chips and just a little over 1 cup oats. I also put all the cut strawberries on paper towels to absorb some of the moisture out - used all other ingredients as mentioned. It was not runny at all. I added some pearl sugar on top and baked 8 - 10 minutes - AND SCRUMPCIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I took one of the advice posted and added more flour and rolled oats. It came out great! I also only used whole-wheat flour and brown sugar. I made them pretty big and they didn't spread out so I had to cook them extra long. I baked them for 20 mins and they came out great. Healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I thought it would be fun and tasty to make cookies with fresh strawberries. Took them to a BBQ at the bosses house. Wow, how embarrassing. I'm known amongst friends for being good at baking. I should not have brought these mushy cookies, the strawberries themselves tasted good, but the rest of the cookie was such an unpleasant texture. Very, very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
It was pretty good, but the listed cooking time was too low and my beutiful work turned into floppy cookies! Add a couple more minutes and they will be PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meerca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
these turned out pretty good, i didn't have as many strawberries as i thought i did so i used blueberries. i don't recommend adding more flour to it, they turned out fine with the amount listed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. I should have read the other reviews before making it. Recipe came out soupy and I baked them anyway and they came out flat. Added more flour, baking soda, cinnamon and oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was a great use of extra fresh strawberries! I have a customer at work who brings me baskets of strawberries from her farm almost weekly, and wanted to make something I could bring in for my coworkers. I loved how they turned out! I read in a bunch of other reviews to add up to 1 cup extra four, so I rounded up to 2 cups total and figured I would add more at the end if needed, and I'm so glad I didn't do a whole cup extra! It was so thick I called my husband in to help me mix it after I added the berries. The lid to my cinnamon container came off, so I got a little more than 1tsp, but I liked it anyways, because you could really taste the cinnamon. They turned out amazing, and the fresh berry taste was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These cam out wonderful. I had fresh frozen strawberries. I used old fashioned rolled oats. I did not have quick oats. They are chewy crispy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I found these cookies to be terrible, even after I applied a couple of the hints listed in the other reviews. I had to add so much flour that they ended up tasting like flour, not strawberries. I would not recommend making these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States