Fresh Strawberry-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I had great success with frozen strawberries, honey instead of white sugar, and a handful of dark chocolate chips thrown in. Also -- be liberal with the baking soda! It makes for a lighter cookie. (I think I used 1.5 teaspoons)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These cam out wonderful. I had fresh frozen strawberries. I used old fashioned rolled oats. I did not have quick oats. They are chewy crispy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had many of the same problems as other reviewers. Dough was very runny, even after adding extra flour and oats. I baked them anyway, and they turned out sort of cake-like, which was kind of strange. I only baked half of the recipe because they looked funny, but those cookies disappeared fast, despite the weird texture! Also, the dough was DELICIOUS! I probably ate a dozen cookies worth of cookie dough while making these...I decided to save the rest of the cookie dough to put on ice cream. Soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
We would just like to say we tried making this recipe, but you know we wanted a lil summtin summtin so we added a lil malibu rum but then it needed more flour so we added it then we baked it and we thought it would be fun to carmalize sugar and strawberries ontop of the cookies they were mushy and we added some mapel syrup and flamed the out of that. Basically these cookies are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
these turned out pretty good, i didn't have as many strawberries as i thought i did so i used blueberries. i don't recommend adding more flour to it, they turned out fine with the amount listed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I found these cookies to be terrible, even after I applied a couple of the hints listed in the other reviews. I had to add so much flour that they ended up tasting like flour, not strawberries. I would not recommend making these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These cookies aren't very good. First, I did not need to add the 1/4 cup of milk & I added a 1/2 cup of flour because the dough was too wet. I had to bake them for 12 minutes & they are soft cookies - almost cake-like. It almost seemed like quick bread batter. In addition to the batter being too wet, the cookies just aren't very tasty. I will not be making these again. All you taste is cinnamon - not strawberry. I think I would leave out the cinnamon & add a teaspoon of almond extract instead of vanilla. I also added a half bag of mini chocolate chips & they are still bland cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I used 2 cups flour, 1 tsp baking powder, light brown sugar, 1 cup mini chocolate chips and just a little over 1 cup oats. I also put all the cut strawberries on paper towels to absorb some of the moisture out - used all other ingredients as mentioned. It was not runny at all. I added some pearl sugar on top and baked 8 - 10 minutes - AND SCRUMPCIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
the advice about adding more flour/oats etc is good but make sure you add it once you know how thin the batter will be. I added an extra cup of flour and more oats and mine was too dry :( other than that great! i used frozen mixed berries and thawed them and also added choc chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I would not recommend these. I added more flour and oatmeal, that seem to help with the runny batter. The cookies were nice and crisp just out of the oven. I did find that they got so soggy after a day you couldn't pick them up let alone eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIE3566

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orient, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States