Fresh Strawberry-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
They have a great taste...But i am very disappointed. I just baked this today, for my friend's birthday. My cookies A. didn't turn out like the picture, B. they wouldn't come off the wax paper, i had to scrape them off the ungreased cookie sheet and they were way too soft in the middle and just fell apart. I used up the entire batch and it was all like this. I don't know if i did something wrong, i followed the recipe to exact measurements...and it just turned out trashy, and i don't want to give my best friend skanky looking cookies. I should have went with a basic sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Tastes like strawberry oatmeal. Only okay taste. May need to modify dry ingredients before making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
They're ok. Mine ended up with a cake-like texture, which I typically like in a cookie. I have done a lot of baking, so I did take it upon myself to "tweak" the recipe as other reviewers were suggesting. I used 2 1/4 cups flour instead of 1 1/2 cups, I added 1/2 t salt, 1/2 t baking powder and eliminated the 1/4 cup milk (thinking that's why people were getting the "runny" consistency... I thought the milk was a little odd in there). I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips at the end too. I just realized that I missed that last 1/4 cup sugar when I wrote down the recipe, so I added some to the batter that I haven't cooked yet and I'm sure that'll make a difference in the flavor. Not sure I can even fairly rate them since I switched up the recipe so much though... ;o|
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This recipe was challenging, Following the recipe as is, the mix came out runny. So I added a little more flour a little more oats, as suggested. I also put my strawberries on a paper towel to dry them a tad. The recipe that came of this was hard to cook, the edges would turn brown around ten minutes but the centers would be undercooked. With that being said I had about 10 that came out alright, but were more cake-y than cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Unfortunately, I was not impressed. The flavor was great, however, even with taking suggestions by other reviewers into consideration, the cookies still didn't turn out all that well. I think they can definitely do without the milk. I upped the flour to 2 cups, and the oats to 1 1/2 cups. They held together while baking, but they are just extremely moist. I also increased cook time to 11 minutes, which helped without burning the cookies. The flavors are definitely there! I just need to do a bit of tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Futrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was a great use of extra fresh strawberries! I have a customer at work who brings me baskets of strawberries from her farm almost weekly, and wanted to make something I could bring in for my coworkers. I loved how they turned out! I read in a bunch of other reviews to add up to 1 cup extra four, so I rounded up to 2 cups total and figured I would add more at the end if needed, and I'm so glad I didn't do a whole cup extra! It was so thick I called my husband in to help me mix it after I added the berries. The lid to my cinnamon container came off, so I got a little more than 1tsp, but I liked it anyways, because you could really taste the cinnamon. They turned out amazing, and the fresh berry taste was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I added chocolate chips to them and about a 1/2 cup extra flour because the strawberries made it watery. They did however turn out very good and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
i wish I had left my parchment paper on the cookie tray. Now I have a big mess to scrape off the tray! The taste is good but I think this recipe is a fail for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellydawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
What a DISASTER! There is no way this recipe will work with ripe strawberries. The amount of juice that they produce makes a very runny, unusable batter. My fix: an extra 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal and another cup of flour. Then I put them in a 13x9 pan like quick bread. In theory, you could forgo the milk, and only add a bit more oatmeal and flour, or drain your strawberries before adding them to your batter. I gave this 2 stars based just on the fact that even though it's a disaster waiting to happen, the taste is actually quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Pretty good- I added flour, Omitted the cinnimon, and I refridgerated them. Clever idea, but they were just ok. I bet they'd be better if u added cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States