Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
The spring rolls recipe as published was OK but I couldn't help doctoring them up to make them outstanding :-)! I used napa cabbage, frozen tiny steamed shrimp (canned is yuckky), and matchstick carrots. I also added shredded poached chicken breast, matchstick red peppers and cilantro. I didn't measure these but just threw in what I had -- that's the beauty of these: experiment! For dipping sauce, I used hoisin sauce, Thai sweet chili sauce and a soy/ginger sauce. The recipe made almost 50 spring rolls and they disappeared from the platter in less than 10 minutes at my brother's wedding reception! By the way, I made these the night before, laying them on a platter scattered with shredded napa cabbage. I covered them with damp paper towels and then shrouded the whole thing with foil. They were PERFECT the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Have made these for two Xmas parties this season both times eaten in an hour. I added some bean sprouts and used real shrimp. I used Thia sweet chili sauce as my sweet and sour. what I like about this recipe is that you have a base to start with but you can add anything that you like. Thanks Rayna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
WE REALLY LIKED THESE, I USED A BAG OF FROZEN COCKTAIL SHRIMP, NAPA CABBAGE, MUSHROOMS. TURNED OUT VERY WELL. TO SOAK THE RICE WRAPPERS, BE VERY CAREFUL. TOO LONG WILL MAKE THEM LIKE GLUE BALLS, TOO SHORT WILL MAKE THEM LIKE BENDING CARDBOARD. BY THE TIME I ROLLED ONE AND HAD 1 IN THE WATER SOAKING, THE NEXT 1 WAS READY TO BE ROLLED OUT. USE WARM WATER TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Didn't care for this though I added cilantro to give it a little something. The taste of the canned shrimp couldn't be masked. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
You must make the dipping sauce recommeded by others. 2 parts hoisin sauce to 1 part chunky peanut butter. Heat on the stove until mixed and add a bit of water to thin. Delicious reason to eat the spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These were perfect after a little doctoring up. I didn't use shrimp, instead I used well chopped stir fry chicken with thai chili sauce and sweet and sour. This was the first time I've tried making Spring Rolls. These were easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Youngblood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used brocoslaw to make it faster and all I could find was frozen rice papers it was so easy and mixed the slaw with sweet chili sauce from the Asin store I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Love Em! They are so FAST & EASY! They are also flexible; you can add & take away ingredients and jazz them up. I use Hoisen Sauce or spicy chili sauce, add cilantro, and I use steamed shrimp... These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Are EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love them because of their texture and they are refreshing because they weren't fried that was good, These I had in a local Thai place and are similar to these. These were SOOOOOOOOOOOO... GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States