Fresh Spring Rolls With Thai Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I love this! So simple! I like the use of spring roll wrappers that I had laying around! *Sooo glad I can tell the difference between a spring roll wrapper and a wonton wrapper, no sloppy mess for me :D*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vixy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Quick, easy and very tasty. I used spinach instead of lettuce and added bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My first attempt at spring rolls and I wanted an easy recipe...which this is. I did adjust some things. I thought the recipe included rice so I made up just some easy instant rice before I realized it wasn't need. But I thought it was a good inclusion ( fills in the spaces). Also I used imitation crab instead of shrimp. I skipped the dipping sauce. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made just the dipping sauce, and it was great served with flank steak or tofu over rice. I ran out of mirin, so for half the amount I used sake and added some brown sugar. I would use this dipping sauce for lots of Asian influenced dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Fabulous! I cut the shrimp in half the long way and used 3 pieces (1.5 shrimp) per roll. We dipped in hoisin, which I adore, but I've also made the dipping sauce listed here and it is delicious! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
These are a good basis to tweak to your own taste. We make some with shrimp and some without, but always like to use fresh lettuce, cucumber, carrot and herbs in them. We often use the round rice papers to wrap with. We also like peanut sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was a first for me making/trying fresh spring rolls, and we really enjoyed them! I used sprouts in place of the lettuce and baby shrimp. I also added some minced green onion for a little extra flavor. I did not make the dipping sauce listed b/c I used another recipe. All in all hubby and I enjoyed these and I would make them again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by V.Naehu808
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I liked this recipe. This is pretty much the ingredients of how I've had them. I made them to specs so I could rate it the way it should be rated, which was fantastic. I too use mint leaves and thai basil. I added a picture of the wraps I use, they are vietnamese Tapioca sheets and only need to be immersed in water for a second before you can begin arranging your ingredients, by the time you are done arranging the ingredients, the wrap will be nice and pliable and shouldn't fall apart. P.S., For those of you who RATE this and other recipes on a low scale, and totally make it different, you are doing a disservice to the rest of us. Make it to specs, then rate it. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Really enjoyed these as a light dinner after two weeks of heavy holiday eating. I added some chopped satay-seasoned chicken and some bean sprouts. I think you can sneak in a little of just about anything in these and they would be great. The "must" for me was the cilantro. That made it seem very fresh and very Thai. I did not use the dipping sauce. Instead I used some prepared Thai peanut sauce and also tried it with some Gyoza (potsticker soy) sauce I had on hand. I preferred the Gyoza sauce. I live in Michigan and found the spring roll wrappers at Meijer in the ethnic food aisle. The come in a round sealed plastic tray and are white and dry, like rice noodles. You will need to soak them... quite a bit different than the Chinese style wrappers you often find with the Asian fresh produce that require cooking. Once I got the hang of it they were easy to use. A little slimy and slippery at first but surprisingly strong. I'd have to practice a lot more to serve them at a party, but for me, they were fine. Watch that they don't touch each other. I found that they stuck together a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Easy! Fresh! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States