Fresh Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This dressing is exactly what I was looking for...not too sweet and not too "vinegary". Made for a perfect dinner on a hot, muggy night. Thank you, SUZBO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband said it is his new favorite salad and I agree. The only thing different is that I used Splenda instead of sugar...and used just a little bit less than the 1/2 C so it wasn't too sweet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This salad is very unusual and surprisingly tasty. I made 1/2 the recipe (as written), but added a little bit of salt. It is quite strong and you only need just a little bit. I served about 4 cups of spinach and still have dressing left. Instead of water chestnuts I added sliced almonds for crunch. My only complaints were that it was a little too sweet and the fresh onion was a bit overpowering. I will definitely be making this again but cut back on the sugar & onion or use onion powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milihandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This took a little prep time but it was worth it. It is very very very tasty! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I am eating this salad as I write. Amazing. I followed some others' suggestions but I think it's such a great base recipe that I still gave it 5 stars. The dressing is excellent. It does make quite a large batch, but I'm happy to have it around! Definitely looking forward to making this at my next potluck or dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Forget the salad-- the dressing is too die for!!! We leftovers of it so the next night I mixed into hamburger meat and grilled--OMG! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Dressing was a big hit with everyone except me! Tasted too vinegary and too ketchup-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I'm rating the dressing as I didn't follow the recipe and use the "mix ins" (bacon, eggs & water chestnuts). As others have said, you could halve the dressing and still have some left over. My husband and 13 yo daughter enjoyed it but my 4 and 5 yo said it was "too sour". I thought the dressing was too over powering. I couldn't taste the salad (spinach, chicken, red onion, feta & toasted pecans). Maybe half of the sugar and ketchup? I will try that as my hubby asked me to "put this recipe on rotation!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELTOAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Wonderful Salad-especially the dressing. You absolutely must use a food processor for the dressing to have it turn out the way it is intended! I did use thin slices of purple onion & dried cranberries in the salad! It was a hit! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband liked it, but I did not. The dressing amounted to a catalina type dressing. I found it too overpowering for the spinach and egg. A more subtle dijon vinaigrette, or simple red wine vinaigrette brings out the flavors of the spinach, egg and bacon as it should. This dressing in this recipe is all I tasted. I made the dressing exactly as the recipe was written. It also made a lot of dressing, far more than necessary for the amount of spinach. I'll use it up in a hearty chef's salad with cold deli chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States