Fresh Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This dressing is exactly what I was looking for...not too sweet and not too "vinegary". Made for a perfect dinner on a hot, muggy night. Thank you, SUZBO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My husband said it is his new favorite salad and I agree. The only thing different is that I used Splenda instead of sugar...and used just a little bit less than the 1/2 C so it wasn't too sweet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This salad is very unusual and surprisingly tasty. I made 1/2 the recipe (as written), but added a little bit of salt. It is quite strong and you only need just a little bit. I served about 4 cups of spinach and still have dressing left. Instead of water chestnuts I added sliced almonds for crunch. My only complaints were that it was a little too sweet and the fresh onion was a bit overpowering. I will definitely be making this again but cut back on the sugar & onion or use onion powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milihandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This took a little prep time but it was worth it. It is very very very tasty! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I am eating this salad as I write. Amazing. I followed some others' suggestions but I think it's such a great base recipe that I still gave it 5 stars. The dressing is excellent. It does make quite a large batch, but I'm happy to have it around! Definitely looking forward to making this at my next potluck or dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Forget the salad-- the dressing is too die for!!! We leftovers of it so the next night I mixed into hamburger meat and grilled--OMG! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Dressing was a big hit with everyone except me! Tasted too vinegary and too ketchup-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I'm rating the dressing as I didn't follow the recipe and use the "mix ins" (bacon, eggs & water chestnuts). As others have said, you could halve the dressing and still have some left over. My husband and 13 yo daughter enjoyed it but my 4 and 5 yo said it was "too sour". I thought the dressing was too over powering. I couldn't taste the salad (spinach, chicken, red onion, feta & toasted pecans). Maybe half of the sugar and ketchup? I will try that as my hubby asked me to "put this recipe on rotation!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELTOAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Wonderful Salad-especially the dressing. You absolutely must use a food processor for the dressing to have it turn out the way it is intended! I did use thin slices of purple onion & dried cranberries in the salad! It was a hit! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband liked it, but I did not. The dressing amounted to a catalina type dressing. I found it too overpowering for the spinach and egg. A more subtle dijon vinaigrette, or simple red wine vinaigrette brings out the flavors of the spinach, egg and bacon as it should. This dressing in this recipe is all I tasted. I made the dressing exactly as the recipe was written. It also made a lot of dressing, far more than necessary for the amount of spinach. I'll use it up in a hearty chef's salad with cold deli chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States