Fresh Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
Oh yeah, this ones a keeper. Do make extra dressing for other salads. My only suggestion would be to include a few thin slices of red onion in the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Wow! My wife came in to my home office and said that she was uninspired and wanted some ideas. I was plum out and did a search for "recipe" on Google. This site came up. This was the first recipe we found. It seemed really easy so we went with it. We were blown away. Our kids loved it. I loved it. It made a bland baked chicken dinner special and a little exotic. Since we had the eggs cooked already, it took about ten minutes for the bacon and that was it. Also, we didn't have water chestnuts so we used macadamia nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
I love this recipe. I don't use the hard-boiled eggs; however. I do add chopped walnuts and mandarin orange slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My boyfriend doesnt like spinach and he doesnt like salad...so when he ate two plates of this, I was shocked!! I wanted a light salad for Valentine's Day, so i just put water chestnuts and walnuts on top of spinach with this dressing. He said it was the best dressing ever, and he was only eating salad cuz the dressing was sooo good. A note, I tried using less dishes and not lugging out the food processor...doesn't work!! You MUST put it in the food processor, or else it looks realy disgusting and lumpy. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Really good salad with a delicious dressing. I used honey in place of the sugar and served it warm. Yum Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is such a great salad. I served it to 45 women at a church dinner and got rave reviews. I had tons of requests to email them the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Very good! I was looking for something a little different and this was it! My 6 year old daughter loved it and so did my husband. I made it lower-carb by substituting Splenda for the sugar, low-carb ketchup for the regular and I used walnuts instead of the water chestnuts. I thought it needed a little something else so I added a little fresh minced garlic and cracked black pepper. *updated 12/23/07 * I still make this, but now add dried cranberries or dried cherries, add pecans instead of walnuts and make the dressing with the bacon grease instead of oil, not heart healthy but WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
The best we have had in a long time = key is the wonderful, fresh dressing = plenty left over! I chopped the water chestnuts up and used as garnish and they seemed to gain a little in taste. We will have this again = use baby spinach -- thanks!! claudette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Very great recipe. My husband is a huge spinach salad fan and this one was a big hit. I saved some of the dressing in the fridge and we have it on other salads... I always get great comments on the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Excellent teste and easy to make. The only complaint I got was that there was more dressing than needed but that could be due to the US/Metric conversion factors as well. Everyone loved the salad though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States