Fresh Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I really liked this spinach salad, especially the dressing. When I made the salad itself, I left out the water chestnuts and added some diced tomato's from my garden and I also added cucumbers. As for the dressing I used honey instead of sugar, red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar, and extra light olive oil instead of vegetable oil. In place of the regular bacon I used turkey bacon. It turned out really good. I will be making this again in the very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Very good! I was looking for something a little different and this was it! My 6 year old daughter loved it and so did my husband. I made it lower-carb by substituting Splenda for the sugar, low-carb ketchup for the regular and I used walnuts instead of the water chestnuts. I thought it needed a little something else so I added a little fresh minced garlic and cracked black pepper. *updated 12/23/07 * I still make this, but now add dried cranberries or dried cherries, add pecans instead of walnuts and make the dressing with the bacon grease instead of oil, not heart healthy but WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Really good salad with a delicious dressing. I used honey in place of the sugar and served it warm. Yum Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I just loved the dressing it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
The salad itself was OK, pretty much a standard spinach salad. I didn't care for the dressing at all. It was too sweet for my taste. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
The dressing was absolutely amazing! I used onion powder since I'm not a big onion fan and it was deelicious! I didn't add water chestnuts and I used bacon bits instead and it was really very good. As I said, I don't like onions but I think that some would think it would be good with red onions. Just a thought:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Supper YUMMY salad. One of the Best spinach salad reciped ever. I doubled/tripled the amount of bacon and eggs for more flavor and used dried onions. I put all the ingrediants for the dressing in a pitcher and shook. Less time, less clean up and the dressing still came out wonderful!! Also the salad is great with or without the chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Great salad! We have been making a version of this for years-- we even had our caterer copy it for our wedding reception! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Thie was really good! I had it for dinner one night and there wasn't anything left! The ketchup in the dressing sounds weird but tastes great! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Excellent flavour. However, way too much dressing. I used only half of the dressing I made, and it was too much also. You may want to cut the sugar in half - too sweet otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States