Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Since I was snow bound this afternoon, I made this recipe...with a couple differences...my peaches were frozen, fresh from the orchard last fall...I thawed them, drained off the juice.. The only real difference I made was that instead of water in the topping I used the same amount of juice from the frozen fruit....also doubled up on the topping recipe...it smelled sssssoooo good while it was baking and tasted even better for dessert.... GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Like some of the other reviewers, I don't consider this a cobbler either however it is still a really good peach dessert! I reduced the sugars for the peach mixture (3 tbsp white sugar and 1 tbsp brown sugar) and kept everything else the same. Instead of baking I heated the peach mixture (I had only frozen peaches on hand) in a pot over the stove until I got the thickness and taste I wanted from the juice. Then I poured the peach mixture into my 8x8 baking dish and made the dough exactly as instructed, with small dollops covering the surface for a more evened out look. I also skipped the cinnamon and just sprinkled some white sugar on top. It was delish and will make this every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Incredible...the crust is crispy throughout, not just at the sides. Flavorful and full of yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
My family loved this recipe! Especially my mother-in-law. She went to the farmers market and bought two huge boxes of peaches just so I could make more. It's such a popular dish in our family now! I did add 1/2 of tapioca to help it from running when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dondie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I always try to stick to a recipe as closely as possible the first time around, however I had to substitute canned sliced peaches instead of using fresh. I used two (large) 29 oz. cans. It made quite a bit of filling, just right actually. I drained all of the juice out of the cans and pressed as much as I could without squishing them. My review: This was a delicious cobbler, it had great flavor. I did my best to drop & spread the dough by spoonfuls and got pretty good coverage. My husband was disappointed because he was wanting the "crust" to be more like a pie crust. This turned out to be more like an inch thick layer of cake. Really good, but not what I was looking for. Oh, and pretty sweet. I LOVE sweet stuff. You could probably cut back on the sugar and be ok. Please be sure to use an 8x8 pan. This recipe isn't written for a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have made 5 of these in the last 2 weeks they get gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made peach cobbler for the first time using to recipe. It was perfect!!! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Made this tonight and it came out great. I did use a pie crust to bake the peaches in - didn't change otherwise and it still tastes wonderful! My 6yr old even helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I like it and thought it was very good. I did use can peachs instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is my first time writing a review. This recipe was amazing! Taste just like the peach cobbler my granny used to make. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States