Fresh Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
As the recipe is written, I give it 3 stars. With a few changes, I give it 5 stars (so I'll officially award it 4 stars)! First, I used three ripe Jersey tomatoes, by far the best out there. I used just one large green bell pepper, one medium sized sweet onion and one fresh jalepeno pepper. I added more lemon juice to taste, and lots of fresh cilantro. I also added kosher salt to taste. The original recipe had too much green pepper and subsequently not enough tomato. It needed salt desperately, as it was very bland. Also, it tastes much better the next day, it needs to marinate. My family is enjoying it, and I plan to keep making it as long as there are Jersey tomatoes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This salsa was a little bland as written, but I added 3 cloves of minced garlic, some salt, and substituted lime juice for the lemon and it turned out great! I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
This is a great salsa. I left out the bell peppers and added salt, black pepper, and olive oil. I also exchanged the lemon juice for lime juice to give a more authentic taste. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
What to do with all those tomatoes? Make salsa ofcourse! BUT I made many changes (based on spices I'd seen used in other salsa recipe's from this site): I used more tomatoes but also some S&P, 1/4 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp minced garlic, and 1 TBLS wht sugar. After chilling a few hours, the flavors really blended well and we enjoyed the salsa very much. I'll still be looking for that "perfect" salsa but this was good and very easy to make. Thanks Kandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
Excellent! Not like any of those using canned tomatoes. Ugh!! I also made this for my fussy kids substituting cucumber for the peppers. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Finally; a totally fresh salsa which I've been looking for a long time. What a refreshing treat. I blended mine in a food processor though. I doubled the garlic; processed this first then added the chopped onions, and jalapenos, cilantro and lemon juice and pulsed to smooth. Lastely added the tomatoes; and just pulsed to consistency preferred. Tons of fresh flavour; a totally authentic mexican treat. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My picky husband actually raved about this salsa. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I thought the recipe on its own was too bland, and I messed with it, adding salt, black pepper, and subsituting the lemon juice with lime juice. Next time I make this, I think I will add garlic, too. A great basic salsa, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
This was super, I added the juice of a lime and it was a big hit. I think it would also be good poured over chicken and baked which I will try. Thanks for the receipe Kandi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
You can't go wrong with fresh salsa! We had huge quantites to tomatoes to get rid of, so this used up a bunch! I use salsa as an excuse to clean out my fridge; garlic, corn, cilantro, basil, shallots... all those things I got a lot of in the garden and wanted to use up... I don't have a recipe; I use whatever's on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Salsa was good. I used lime juice instead of lemon. Didn't have cilantro so I used nothing but I think it would have made it better. It was good though. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States