Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This recipe provides a great "base" for your salsa but it does need to be modified to fit your tastes and preferences, especially if you like it chunky and not too spicy. But I found it very easy to modify as I went along. I like a chunky, fresh looking salsa so I added 2 diced vine ripened tomatoes and only put a 14.5 oz. can of whole tomatoes instead of the 28 oz., and drained and reserved the fluid in case I needed it, but found it wasn't necessary (I still used the 10oz can which gave enough liquid). I only put in one jalepeno pepper since I was making it for a crowd with various tastes, and I found the flavor was still very present. And I cut down the onion to 1/2 and the garlic to 3 cloves, crushed. Then I added the juice of 1 lime and a small bunch of cilantro. No blender for me! I just diced everything. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
AWESOME!!! After reading the other reviews, I added the juice of one small lime, one bunch finely chopped cilantro, doubled the canned tomatoes to 52 oz total, added two large fresh tomatoes and ten vine ripened cherry tomatoes, about three tablespoons of chopped green onion, used only 3 cloves garlic and only one jalapeno diced into a near paste. Total quantity of salsa when I was done was 8 cups. Tortillas with lime were the vehicle of choice for the salsa (although I would eat it by the spoonful iif no one else was around)....so in conclusion it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is a really good recipe and much better than store bought salsa. It is a spicy, but a good degree of spicy. If you want to turn down the heat, decrease the jalepenos to 2 or seed the jalepenos after they cool down from roasting. I would not omit the peppers because the roasted taste makes the salsa. I have tried this recipe with less jalepenos and 'as is' because I was nervous it was going to be too spicy. I highly recommend 'as is'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This salsa is excellent - a little on the hot side (lesson learned) but pretty darn close to salsa I've had in restaurants. I cut this down to 12 servings and used (2) 14.5 oz. cans of diced tomatoes, one with green chile peppers and one without. I love roasting the jalepeno pepper (next time I'll use only half of one that's what made it a little too hot). I added some fresh lime juice, cilantro, and doubled the amount of cumin. I love the fact that you can make this as chunky as you like - much better than the jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I must admit, I was a bit skeptical of using canned tomato products in fresh salsa, but decided to give this a try. Am I glad I did! It is delicious, easy to make, and tastes just as good as the recipe I have used for yrs. that calls for fresh tomatoes! I will make this often, probably weekly, being the salsa lovers my family is. Please try this, it is yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
This was wonderful! My boyfriend says "Mmmm mmmm good!" We used Mexican style Rotel tomatoes with cilantro and lime, and one more jalapeno. We are just raving at how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This is a very good salsa, however it is WAY too spicy and I only used three jalapeno peppers and I even took the seeds out. Also I added cilantro, the juice of two limes, and I used fresh tomatoes, not then canned. In addition, I only used three garlic cloves. Next time I try this, I will only use one jalapeno pepper. Overall though it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Wow, what a great base for a salsa. I have tried several recipes and never gotten what I considered a "good" result. I changed this a bit. I added fresh cilantro to the food processor when blending. Additionally, I omitted the Jalapeno peppers and substituted 2 fresh cayenne peppers from my garden - my wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This was okay and makes way too much sauce not salsa. If you're into hot & spicy, then the flavor of this recipe is for you. If you like your salsa chunky, then this is not the recipe for you. Although, this was very simple to make, it was not the hit of my party on Saturday. Possbily could be the fact that I had 5 other appetizers and people went for the other dishes. Going to have to play with this one before my next party in August. Also, I agree with another reviewer and roasting the garlic might be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I thought it was real good and my husband said it was the best homemade salsa he has ever had! He also said it reminded him of the restaurant (Dos Amigos) salsa. In fact, I am making it again tonight! I altered the recipe a little bit though, I used 4 garlic cloves, added cilantro, and did not put sugar in it. It was a bit hot, but I think it all depends on where the jalapenos come from, it does makes a difference if they are in a jar, can, or fresh. Even the brand name makes a difference. I think everyone owes this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States