Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
4 jalapenos are a bit too much unless you REALLY like it spicy- I cut this in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Fabulous salsa!! I've been making this for about 3 years now and everytime I do my family raves about it. We do like it spicy so I had as many as needed for our taste. Very comparable if not better than restaurant salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
really good, good balance of ingredients, and looked lovely. It didn't "gel" as well as other salsas I've eaten, but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe was why I bought a food processor! I make this all the time - whether for using in veggie chili, or just for some chips. Here's how I adjusted: I added a small bunch of cilantro as well as about a teaspoon of lime juice. I tried using 5 cloves of garlic as noted in the recipe, but that seemed way too garlicky - and I love garlic. Instead I'd reccommend using no more than 3 cloves, or roasting 5 cloves with the jalapenos. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I make this salsa all the time and everyone loves it! I do cut down the sugar to 1tsp and only add 2 jalapenos since I'm making it for a crowd.(It still gives it a nice kick)If I have fresh tomatoes I substitute them for the can of peeled ones. Also I add the juice of 1 lime and some cilantro. Perfect everytime and easily modified to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Really easy and tasty for a few "need now" salsa. I am taking mine to work tomorrow and I had the ingredients at home, minus a few peppers. I just added a few cherry peppers marinated in olive oil, and it was nice and spicy. I will definately keep making this recipe because it is easy to substitute ingredients and be salsa ready at any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This salsa is FABULOUS! I have made it so many times and it is always great and I get tons of compliments. The one thing I will say is that I would deseed the jalapeno's. There have been a couple times when I have made this and it was too hot with the seeds. Other than that the recipe is perfect. Thanks so much for sharing, because now I can make a salsa better than most restaurants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I have to admit I rarely make things according to the directions. This is an excellent base recipe. That said here are some changes I would make (and have): Instead of the canned tomatoes I used about 5 mediums tomatoes to broil on the baking sheet with the garlic and about 7 - 9 diced fresh tomatoes after I pureed the broiled yumminess. Then I add 1 -3 T of olive oil (sorry to be so vague, but i know the consistancy I am looking for, Instead of sugar I use honey and I throw it all in a blender. Then I add 10 scallions and use the pulse butten to get I finer consistancy. Once I'm done with this I throw it all in a big bowl where I have placed a couple of dashes of nutmeg, 2 cups finely cut fresh cilantro, 1/4 cup fresh lime juice and the zest of 4 limes. Sometimes I season it with pepper. There it remains for several hours. This is a great make ahead recipe that I wind up canning and giving as party gifts every year. YIPPEEE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
The first time I made this salsa, I made it 'as is', with two exception - for the roasted jalapenos, i fire roasted them on the stove (i have a gas stove) and I added a can of corn for color. Everyone loved it! The only thing I didn't like was that it was very soupy and the food processor didn't leave any chunkiness to the salsa that I personally love. The second time around, I used fresh tomatoes in place of the canned, added lime juice and cilantro (like many of the other reviewers) and hand chopped everything -which can be time consuming)- and I let it sit overnight to let the flavors blend. Hands down one of the best salsa recipes I've used - and I get asked to make it for parties a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Royle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Excellent, made an extra large amount and canned it. Jalapenos are a nice addition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States