Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I hate to give this recipe 4 stars, but I come from California where we practically eat salsa for breakfast. I used 2 jalapeno peppers and it wasn't spicy enough for me. I added cilantro and a bit of lime, but it was still missing something. I will keep this recipe and use it as a base but maybe next time I will use habaneros?? Totally munching on this salsa right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I have found. Quick easy and adaptable. I like a lot of the reviewers added cilantro and can take or leave the lime juice. I did add more jalepenos and enjoy it with the roasted peppers, but I boil mine to squeeze more heat out of them. Not as much smoky flavor but a lot more heat. Thanks Kaylene good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Way, way, WAY too much onion. I backed it down to half and it was still way too much. I added another teaspoon of cumin and some cilantro and more salt. I left out the sugar. It was edible, but I will definitely tweak it even more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This salsa recipe is excellent. My family absolutely loves it! I use a 28 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes and a 4 oz. can of diced jalapenos, along with the other items from the recipe, and it comes out perfect every time. I also drain most of the juice from the cans, because we like our salsa a little chunkier. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used two Roma tomatoes, one small can of tomatoes, a can of RoTel, and lots of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I loved this! Changed a little: used a 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies, 4 fresh roma tomatoes, and 2 tbsp tomato paste. I also added a bit of cilantro and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
great basic salsa. next time i will add all ingredients at once, to not over chop; drain both tomatoes; use a large onion or 2 small; remove all jalapeno seeds; start with 2 tsp sugar & 2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love, the porters

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I think that 5 cloves is to much garlic that's all I could taste but other than that it was fantastic I used habaneros instead of green chilies very yummy just less garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Made as is except only used 3 serrano chilies, added cilantro and decreased sugar to 1tsp. Everything else was the same! Was so easy to do in the food processor. Whole family loved it. My 16 year old said it was my best salsa yet- he liked it better than my fresh tomato salsa. I doubt I'll ever use fresh tomatoes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Wow this is restaurant quality! I used 3 cloves, 1/2 onion, pinch of sugar, Hot Rotel, juice of one lime, and a hand full of cilantro. This is super spicy, but that's exactly how I like my salsa! For those of you who like your mouth to burn, this recipe is for you! But I also used HOT Rotel, which kicked it up a noch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States