Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I didn't care for this at all. It tasted more like tomato sauce than salsa. To add flavor, I had to add a can of diced green chilis, more garlic, more cumin and more salt. I really not like this at all. I think if I would have left out the 28 oz can of whole tomatoes, it probably would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This salsa was so good and very easy to make. I just wish it had a little more heat (I like things hot). I took out the seeds to the jalapenos and next time I would leave at least 2 with seeds. It has a sweet and spicy flavor. I left out the cumin because I did not have any and I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
The definition of "fresh" is not cooked. Canned tomatoes work so well in salsa. They are picked at the peak of ripeness. DUH Grocery store tomatoes have no taste. To cut the heat take out the seeds and veins. The jalapeno's I have been getting are very mild. I also would add lime and culantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Well I have been to quite few Mexican restaurants. I have always been looking for the recipe chip dip that was just like this. I can't believe it, Thank you. I did add a few things from my garden like 4 Fresh Jalapenos, and 8 - 10 Culantro leaves (just like Cilantro). I also had to buy a small can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos inside they looked to good to pass up and a large regular can of diced tomatoes,plus the juice from 2 key limes. everything in the blender after the roasting, and bam all done. Thank you. Oh it was a bit too spicy hot for the wife so she diluted it with regular diced tomatoes and enjoyed it with Tostitos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This may very well be a tasty salsa but DUH...it isn't a FRESH salsa if it contains Canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Great, spicy salsa. The only change I made was to use a can of diced tomatoes and then to add in some green chiles separately. This was great with our tortilla chips as well as on our enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Decreased to one grilled jalapeno. Added juice from half of a lime and salsa seasoning packet. Came out a fav for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I used serrano peppers instead of jalapenos, because I like their flavor and heat level better than jalapeno. I only used 2 cloves of garlic, because I didn't want it to be to garlicky. I increased salt to 1 1/2 tsp and decreased cumin to about 1/8 tsp. I do want to say though, that I'd be willing to bet the recipe was great as is, but I always like to tweak things to my taste, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Overall, this salsa was pretty great. The best I've made from home. I did reduce the jalapeno to only 3. Next time, I will greatly reduce the sugar or leave it out alltogether. My husband and I both agreed it was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I absolutely loved the flavor of this salsa! The only problem I ran in to was it was too hot to eat at first. I seeded two of the pepper but left two with seeds. I would not recommend doing that, and I am a lover of hot food. I was able to fix the problem by added more sugar (~ 3tbsp) and some vinegar. It didn't make the salsa sweet, but did help with the heat. Also this recipe makes a TON of salsa so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States