Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Brilliant! I was a bit turned off by the colour and texture of the salsa when it first came out of the blender. After it settled in the fridge for a while, I was more used to it. The secret is definately in roasting the jalapenos. I used an extra one and the spiciness is perfect! I used 3 fresh tomatoes instead of the canned peeled ones as suggested by a reviewer. This is much better than anything I could find at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Awesome salsa!!! The only change I made was adding some fresh tomato and cutting the canned tomatoes in half, and I also added a little lime juice. My husband took the leftovers to work and it was gone within minutes! Excellent - thank you!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was very good. I took it to a party and everyone loved it. I only put in 4 garlic cloves and 2 peppers and used 3 real tomatoes instead of the canned peeled tomatoes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agency, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
My husband's new favorite! I will try fresh tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This was great! We used jarred jalapenos and made two different levels of spiciness. My husband prefers chunkier salsa (we used the blender) but the taste was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is amazing! Don't change a thing. I added the chopped tomatoes at the very end and pulsed it to leave it a bit more chunky. The jalepenos give it a kick without being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This Salsa was good but it tasted like something was missing. I added some extra salt and some cilantro but it still wasn’t quite right. I will try this Salsa again but next time I will definitely use fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Very good salsa, but hot as written! It's burning my tongue as I type this. I added 1/2 bunch of cilantro & lime juice and I think that it would have been a lot more bland without it. Still very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was AWESOME! I was very skeptical about the canned tomatoes (I usually use fresh tomatoes only for salsa), but it tasted very fresh. I followed some of the suggestions on the site and added 2cans Rotel and only a small can of whole tomatoes. I also added 3 fresh tomatoes, lime juice, and pepper. I used frozen chopped jalepenos from last years garden and didn't roast them. It was so easy and cheap I don't think I'll ever buy jarred salsa again. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States