Fresh Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Hey !!! This recipe is killer!!! I made a double batch cause salsa just doesnt last long around my house. The improvisions I made were that I only used 3 peppers per batch and after smoking them in the oven I cut 3 of them in half and scraped out the seeds and the inside splines. And then I added a bundle of cilantro to the mix and blended. Lol, my son took some to school and some friends and teachers swore up and down the salsa was from a local mexican restruant. Also a bit of info for others..... if you use everything called for and you find it too hot, just add a bit more sugar until it is cooled down enough for you. You can always add another can of tomatoes or a couple extra fresh tomatoes but no too much cause you doen't want it too tomatoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is fantastic, I had to reduce the amount of Jalapenos down to 2 and cut back the garlic to 2 or 3 cloves. My wife loves it so much she said that she doesn't need chips, she could just drink it from the jar. I do prefer not to process it to a liquid as I like Salsa to be a little chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This turned out to be an excellent recipe. I have found adding some fresh cilantro goes a long way in making it even more authentic. Since my boys are not real big on having very spicy foods, I usually make half the batch with the jalapenos and the other half without which is an easy way to have hot and mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Used fresh tomatoes from the garden, and cut the jalepenos in half (we have young kids who don't like it too spicy). Loved it and will definitely make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This salsa was great! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and cut the amount of jalapenos back. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Malinowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This is a very good recipe, however if you rather have a milder salsa BEWARE! Only use maybe 2 jalepenos. I probably should have de-seeded the peppers and that would have brought it down a notch, but WOW! It's got a kick which my hubbie loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McClaughry Marek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Excellent! This recipe was so delicious. I made it for my family and for my boyfriend and everybody liked it. However, if the jalapenos are in season, watch out! I only had to use three and it was spicy for even my mom (who eats habaneros whole)! Put in two peppers, then add one at a time based on your taste. You can always add them, but you can never take them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Fabulous. I added 1 extra jalapeno to increase the heat but otherwise the recipe is simple and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I made this to go along with the Texas Chicken Quesdillas, but due to a power outage, quite a bit of it went to tortilla chips. It was very garlic-y to me, but my family loved it. Next time I won't use all four jalepenos; it was VERY hot, even after adding a can of plain diced tomatoes. It was still so good that my family toughed it out even through the fire! I also substituted garlic powder for cloves, and at the advice of other reviews, added fresh cilantro and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Excellent Salsa, Quick and Easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States