Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Oh this one is a big YES. How can anything so simple be so good? This is my go-to rhubarb pie recipe. My 100% rhubarb pie-loving boyfriend thinks that this is the best he has ever had. Do put the pie on the lowest rack and follow the temp instructions. Do everything as written! Others said that they rubbed food coloring into the sugar/flour mixture - I do not recommend that - I found that although the coloring gave the juices a beautiful rosy hue, there was red lumpy-looking coagulation (from the flour thickener) that didn't look nice. Now, we just eat the pie in all its green glory and leave out the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by furayar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This pie is easy and awesome! My family loved it, I loved it, even my coworkers loved it. Everyone loved it so much I was asked to make one for my friend to use as a Mother's Day gift for her mom. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This recipe is so simple and turned out great! I've finally learned how to keep my crust from going soggy from the pie juices. Most recipes will tell you to mix the fruit, flour, and sugar together - this is what creates a soggy crust. The suggestion in this recipe is spot on! I followed the mixing instructions to the T - and my pie was perfection! I just made a few ingredient changes based on what I had on hand: used tapioca flour instead of regular flour, sprinkled 1 tsp vanilla on the fruit, added 1 tsp cinnamon to the fruit. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I followed the directions step for step. It did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I had never used rhubarb in a pie or anything else because it seemed to hard! Boy was I wrong!! My husband LOVED this pie!! Very easy to make. I didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Mmm.. I followed the recipe exactly and it was sooo good! Unless you like your rhubarbs sour, the amount of sugar isn't too much! It is not overly sweet, and sometime you'll get a sour piece of rhubarb which makes a nice balance with the rest of the pie. I covered the edges for the last 15-20 minutes. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigLipSabrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
THIS WAS THE BEST PIE! I reminded me of the pie I used to eat in my younger days. I didn't change a thing and found the video very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was way too tart for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Was not impressed with this at all, was strangely both too tart and too sweet at the same time. The too tart part could be because it was the first rhubarb of the year here, so am planning on giving this another try later in the year with less sugar, but will make a mini pie just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The only thing I changed is to use only 1 cup of sugar, I like mine just a little tart, and I whip up an egg and add it to the rhubarb to help it set a little. I also used tapioca in place of half of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States