Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Perfect pie every time. As others have mentioned DO NOT mix the rhubarb and sugar works great just layering! Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Just tried it - awesome! Delicious, crispy crusts both top and bottom, just like Mom made! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I don't usually like pie because of the soggy crust. This technique of layering the sugar and flour mixture with the fruit left a flaky bottom crust. I used "Ruth's grandma's pie crust" from this site, which is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It's so simple and good. I use a mixture of brown sugar and white sugar instead of al white - the hint of molasses makes it special. Great pie! My husband goes crazy over it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Delicious! I forgot to put the butter in but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This tasted great. I used mostly green rhubarb because could not find the red, but it worked. I may decrease the sugar a bit next time because my hubby likes his pie a little less sweet, but I thought it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Spectacular!! This recipe is PERFECT. You can add anything you want but I would not take a single thing away. This one is a true, life-long keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We loved it. Took suggestions from others: skip the butter and use 3 T tapioca instead of the flour. I was afraid I didn't have enough rhubarb from our yard, but I used all I had which was a bit short of the 4 Cups recommended and it still turned out great. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary David Snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Oh this one is a big YES. How can anything so simple be so good? This is my go-to rhubarb pie recipe. My 100% rhubarb pie-loving boyfriend thinks that this is the best he has ever had. Do put the pie on the lowest rack and follow the temp instructions. Do everything as written! Others said that they rubbed food coloring into the sugar/flour mixture - I do not recommend that - I found that although the coloring gave the juices a beautiful rosy hue, there was red lumpy-looking coagulation (from the flour thickener) that didn't look nice. Now, we just eat the pie in all its green glory and leave out the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by furayar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This pie is easy and awesome! My family loved it, I loved it, even my coworkers loved it. Everyone loved it so much I was asked to make one for my friend to use as a Mother's Day gift for her mom. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States