Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Delicious! I forgot to put the butter in but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This tasted great. I used mostly green rhubarb because could not find the red, but it worked. I may decrease the sugar a bit next time because my hubby likes his pie a little less sweet, but I thought it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Spectacular!! This recipe is PERFECT. You can add anything you want but I would not take a single thing away. This one is a true, life-long keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We loved it. Took suggestions from others: skip the butter and use 3 T tapioca instead of the flour. I was afraid I didn't have enough rhubarb from our yard, but I used all I had which was a bit short of the 4 Cups recommended and it still turned out great. Great with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Oh this one is a big YES. How can anything so simple be so good? This is my go-to rhubarb pie recipe. My 100% rhubarb pie-loving boyfriend thinks that this is the best he has ever had. Do put the pie on the lowest rack and follow the temp instructions. Do everything as written! Others said that they rubbed food coloring into the sugar/flour mixture - I do not recommend that - I found that although the coloring gave the juices a beautiful rosy hue, there was red lumpy-looking coagulation (from the flour thickener) that didn't look nice. Now, we just eat the pie in all its green glory and leave out the food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by furayar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This pie is easy and awesome! My family loved it, I loved it, even my coworkers loved it. Everyone loved it so much I was asked to make one for my friend to use as a Mother's Day gift for her mom. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This recipe is so simple and turned out great! I've finally learned how to keep my crust from going soggy from the pie juices. Most recipes will tell you to mix the fruit, flour, and sugar together - this is what creates a soggy crust. The suggestion in this recipe is spot on! I followed the mixing instructions to the T - and my pie was perfection! I just made a few ingredient changes based on what I had on hand: used tapioca flour instead of regular flour, sprinkled 1 tsp vanilla on the fruit, added 1 tsp cinnamon to the fruit. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I followed the directions step for step. It did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I had never used rhubarb in a pie or anything else because it seemed to hard! Boy was I wrong!! My husband LOVED this pie!! Very easy to make. I didn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Mmm.. I followed the recipe exactly and it was sooo good! Unless you like your rhubarbs sour, the amount of sugar isn't too much! It is not overly sweet, and sometime you'll get a sour piece of rhubarb which makes a nice balance with the rest of the pie. I covered the edges for the last 15-20 minutes. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigLipSabrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States