Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made this with NO SUBSTITUTIONS. And it worked like a charm twice in a row! My biggest fear with pies is that they will end up runny, but this one pulled it off flawlessly. Also, added just the right amount of sweetness to the tart rhubarb to make it a crowd pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Seriously....perfection. I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust Recipe by Dana and mmmmm mmmmmm so delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this pie for our heritage festival last June, won 2nd place, made it again for this year's festival and placed 1st!!!. Great pie Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Kind of disappointing. The four cups weren't really enough and I found it very sweet. This is the first time I've made straight rhubarb… next time I'll go back to the strawberry and rhubarb combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I forgot to add the butter, but it was excellent without it! You might as well not add the extra fat and just leave it out. This was my first time making a rhubarb pie, and I thought for sure it was going to taste too tart, but it turned out perfectly sweet. Putting the pie on the lowest rack helped the pie crust not to burn. I didn't have to line the crust with foil at all. This was an amazing pie, and I will definitely make it again. And that says a lot coming from someone who doesn't like the taste of rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This pie was so easy to make and was wonderful. I've never had rhubarb pie before and I can't wait to make this again. Followed recipe exactly and used frozen rhubarb. Was awesome. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
i have tried both putting the sugar flour mixture on the top and bottom and then just putting it on the bottom and mixing the rest with the fruit and i have to say the best results i get are putting the sugar flour mix on the bottom then mixing the rest with the fruit. if you just pour the flour sugar mixture on top sometimes it will just crystalize and you will have a big sugar layer between your crust and your filling which is not appealing or tasty at all. i have added strawberries to this recipe and the pie comes out great. i also added strawberries and raspberries and that pie was delicious also. this recipe is defiantly a keeper because it turns out a delicious pie every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccook, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Wow...I mean, really wow... I've had rhubarb pie only once and before that, I didn't even know what rhubarb was or what it tasted like. When I looked at it the first time, I didn't even want to try it because I wasn't really turned on by the color of it. My hubby kept saying I should try cause it's so good. I reluctantly tried it and I liked it a lot to my surprise. Last week, when I saw rhubarb in the store, I came home and checked for the recipe to see if I could make it. I found this recipe and after watching the video, I gained some confidence. I couldn't believe how easy it was. The video helped a lot, too but it really was just so easy. I followed the recipe to the T. I thought about omitting butter just like a reviewer said but decided to leave it in there to see how the original recipe would come out. Also I was afraid that it would be runny like some reviews said but it really wasn't runny at all. I guess it might have been or might be runny if you eat it not long after you bake it but I had to wait at least 4-5 hours till I was able to have a piece and it was truly so good and perfect. My hubby liked it of course. I still can't believe how easy it is and how good it is. Well, I don't know what color ripe rhubarb is supposed to be. Mine was red outside but green inside. The pie was kinda brown when done. It was just so good. I'll be making this again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My 87 year old (farmer) landlord said that this was one of the best rhubarb pies he has ever tasted. Now this includes his wife's AND his mother's! He confessed that didn't share the pie with anyone! lol So, I'm making 2 pies this week. One for him and one for his buddies and son. My advise? If you're looking for the best, don't change a thing!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigMike Lenahan
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Baking is not just about ingredients; technique is just as important. There is a lot going on inside this simple pie while it's in the oven, and any changes made to the baking technique will change the outcome. Sprinkle 1/3 cup of the sugar/flour mixture in the bottom crust, sprinkle the remainder on top of the fruit. It really makes a difference. This is without a doubt the best pie I have ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States