Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My 11 year old son was determined to make this pie by himself, never having done anything like this before. This was the best pie! (and not just because I'm his mom) We will be making this pie again and will try different fruits and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It is hands down the best rhubarb pie I've ever had! I agree with the reviewers who reinforce NOT mixing the sugar/flour with rhubarb beforehand! The sugar on top and bottom of filling makes a wonderful sweet crispy crust that makes this pie extra delicious!! Made it exactly as above and would not change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I've only ever had strawberry rhubarb pie but the strawberries at the store were awful!! So...was looking for something w/just the rhubarb. Saw the reviews and gave it a try. My 12 year old loved it! Thought it tasted a little like apple pie. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Excellent -- this made the crispest bottom crust I've ever had in a pie. The key is in the way that the sugar/ flour mixture is divided and placed. Genius! My husband thought it was the best rhubarb he had ever had (and he grew up with rhubarb bushes and will not concede this on any other pie over his mother's amazing pies). I like my rhubarb pie a bit more tart so I will reduce the sugar slightly next time, but my family thought it was perfect just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good, very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Great recipe! Made this into a crisp as well and it is great. Took this to a party and I overheard one guest say it was so good he wanted to lick out the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I placed in a 4th of July pie baking contest 2 years in a row with this pie!! Absolutely awesome. My picky family even loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Ok maybe it is just me I made this exactly as the recipe said and was very disappointed in the after taste from the flour might try again with tapioca. Sorry it was not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is the best rhubarb pie recipe I've found. I make a 10" pie, so I use 7 cups of rhubarb, 1 2/3 c sugar, 8 Tbsp flour, and 1 Tbsp butter. Make it just as the recipe calls and you will not be disappointed. Pair it with a scoop of vanilla bean iced cream and one serving may not be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
make sure you mound the rhubarb, and mound the sugar mixture on top without mixing or jiggling it to distribute. Also, put a pan under it to catch the drips so you dont have to clean the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaheath1
Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States