Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is simply the BEST rhubarb pie you will ever taste. It is not difficult to make and it beats any store/ restaurant bought pie. Hands down the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHALTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made the pie yesterday morning, and my husband and I enjoyed it at dinner. I made it exactly as the recipe stated using Pillsbury pie crust. I put the sugar/flour on the bottom and resisted the urge to mix the remaining mixture as I normally would do. As another reviewer mention, the lattice crust was sweet and crispy. My pie was not watery. The pie was not too sweet at all. I THAWED two bags of garden grown rhubarb over night. When I drained the bags in the morning, I had well over 1 1/2 of liquid. My pie was still moist but anything but runny which is what usually happens when I use fresh rhubarb. Try this recipe - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Taste delicious!!!! But I don't know why mine turned out runny. I followed the recipe exactly, what do you think I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
BEST PIE IVE EVER HAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My husband has been asking me to make rhubarb pie for months and I finally decided it was time. This was a great recipe, so easy, and he loved it. Now he wants one every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have wanted to make a rhubarb pie for my husband of 26 years after hearing about the ones his Grandma use to make but you know how that goes. I have had this particular recipe saved for a few years and finally decided to make it when his Mom gave me some rhubarb she had grown. I went exactly by the recipe and used Perfect Pie Crust II from this site also. He wasn't home when I made it, so I sent him a picture on his phone and he was worried it wouldn't still be warm by the time he got home. His words after savoring the first piece: "I really hate to say this being she was my grandmother, but this is better than hers. It has the perfect amount of tart versus sweet. He thanked me numerous times for bringing so many great memories back to him. I will definitely be making this for him often. Thank you so much, Carol!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Made recipe as stated. It was not juicy and had too much flour. This time I have reduced the flour to1/4 cup(4 T), added grated orange peel, and about 2 T of the orange's juice. We will see the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My 11 year old son was determined to make this pie by himself, never having done anything like this before. This was the best pie! (and not just because I'm his mom) We will be making this pie again and will try different fruits and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It is hands down the best rhubarb pie I've ever had! I agree with the reviewers who reinforce NOT mixing the sugar/flour with rhubarb beforehand! The sugar on top and bottom of filling makes a wonderful sweet crispy crust that makes this pie extra delicious!! Made it exactly as above and would not change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I've only ever had strawberry rhubarb pie but the strawberries at the store were awful!! So...was looking for something w/just the rhubarb. Saw the reviews and gave it a try. My 12 year old loved it! Thought it tasted a little like apple pie. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States