Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by kmila111
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I really loved this recipe because it was easy and delicious. It was a hit in our home! I used frozen rhubarb and defrosted it, which turned out great. The only alteration I would make is using less sugar (next time I will probably use 1 cup instead of 1 1/3) as I also like to pair my pies with vanilla bean ice cream and that's just too much sweet. My boyfriend on the other hand thought it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmila111

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by btrx
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This pie turned out incredible. I made my own crust using the recipe on this sure labeled "mom's double pie crust" and it was all such a breeze. This was my first time ever making a pie and I was surprised at how easy and delicious if turned out to be. Will definitely make this again. Don't change anything-I made the recipe exactly as written and other than the crust burning slightly at the edges during the initial 15 minute bake-it was perfect. I think my oven may rub a bit high-I'm blaming the burnt edges on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nayann68
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fantastic!!!! I made this pie for my dad and he now hits me up for one all the time. Make it exactly as recipe states. I didn't change anything. The flour holds this pie together perfect. Nothing comes running out when cut :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I would definitely not skimp on the rhubarb because you want a full pie. Very yummy and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is simply the BEST rhubarb pie you will ever taste. It is not difficult to make and it beats any store/ restaurant bought pie. Hands down the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHALTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made the pie yesterday morning, and my husband and I enjoyed it at dinner. I made it exactly as the recipe stated using Pillsbury pie crust. I put the sugar/flour on the bottom and resisted the urge to mix the remaining mixture as I normally would do. As another reviewer mention, the lattice crust was sweet and crispy. My pie was not watery. The pie was not too sweet at all. I THAWED two bags of garden grown rhubarb over night. When I drained the bags in the morning, I had well over 1 1/2 of liquid. My pie was still moist but anything but runny which is what usually happens when I use fresh rhubarb. Try this recipe - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Taste delicious!!!! But I don't know why mine turned out runny. I followed the recipe exactly, what do you think I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
BEST PIE IVE EVER HAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My husband has been asking me to make rhubarb pie for months and I finally decided it was time. This was a great recipe, so easy, and he loved it. Now he wants one every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have wanted to make a rhubarb pie for my husband of 26 years after hearing about the ones his Grandma use to make but you know how that goes. I have had this particular recipe saved for a few years and finally decided to make it when his Mom gave me some rhubarb she had grown. I went exactly by the recipe and used Perfect Pie Crust II from this site also. He wasn't home when I made it, so I sent him a picture on his phone and he was worried it wouldn't still be warm by the time he got home. His words after savoring the first piece: "I really hate to say this being she was my grandmother, but this is better than hers. It has the perfect amount of tart versus sweet. He thanked me numerous times for bringing so many great memories back to him. I will definitely be making this for him often. Thank you so much, Carol!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States