Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Mmm.. I followed the recipe exactly and it was sooo good! Unless you like your rhubarbs sour, the amount of sugar isn't too much! It is not overly sweet, and sometime you'll get a sour piece of rhubarb which makes a nice balance with the rest of the pie. I covered the edges for the last 15-20 minutes. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigLipSabrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
THIS WAS THE BEST PIE! I reminded me of the pie I used to eat in my younger days. I didn't change a thing and found the video very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was way too tart for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Was not impressed with this at all, was strangely both too tart and too sweet at the same time. The too tart part could be because it was the first rhubarb of the year here, so am planning on giving this another try later in the year with less sugar, but will make a mini pie just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The only thing I changed is to use only 1 cup of sugar, I like mine just a little tart, and I whip up an egg and add it to the rhubarb to help it set a little. I also used tapioca in place of half of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmila111
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I really loved this recipe because it was easy and delicious. It was a hit in our home! I used frozen rhubarb and defrosted it, which turned out great. The only alteration I would make is using less sugar (next time I will probably use 1 cup instead of 1 1/3) as I also like to pair my pies with vanilla bean ice cream and that's just too much sweet. My boyfriend on the other hand thought it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmila111

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by btrx
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This pie turned out incredible. I made my own crust using the recipe on this sure labeled "mom's double pie crust" and it was all such a breeze. This was my first time ever making a pie and I was surprised at how easy and delicious if turned out to be. Will definitely make this again. Don't change anything-I made the recipe exactly as written and other than the crust burning slightly at the edges during the initial 15 minute bake-it was perfect. I think my oven may rub a bit high-I'm blaming the burnt edges on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nayann68
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fantastic!!!! I made this pie for my dad and he now hits me up for one all the time. Make it exactly as recipe states. I didn't change anything. The flour holds this pie together perfect. Nothing comes running out when cut :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I would definitely not skimp on the rhubarb because you want a full pie. Very yummy and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is simply the BEST rhubarb pie you will ever taste. It is not difficult to make and it beats any store/ restaurant bought pie. Hands down the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHALTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States