Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Not too sweet and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I have made a lot of pies over the years and if you like sweet this is your pie. We prefer a little more tart so I increased the amount of rhubarb, the pie is in the oven now. The recipe instructions to put the sugar and the flour top and bottom is good. I always sprinkle a pinch of salt on a pie and always little chunks of butter on top. Pie is not a low cal desert so one must make choices. I aways brush the edge of my crust with cream before I put the lid on and brush the top of the pie with cream and sprinkle a very generous amount of white sugar to give the pie a glorious appearance. I also watch the baking and cover my pie with aluminum foil when it is the perfect color, this is usually the last 10 minutes of baking. All this being said, I made the pie for company following the exact directions and they loved it, but hubby thought is too sweet. The adjusted amount of rhubarb (five cups) was perfect, a little tart and slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Wow I love this recipe!!! Quick, easy and simply delicious. Thanks for the tip of adding sugar/flour to bottom pie crust and sprinkling the rest over fruit and NOT mixing it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was the first pie I ever made. It was just excellent. I made a 10-inch pie and adjusted it like L K Kling recommended (2. review). Just great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Loved this recipe and it is the only one I use for fresh rhubarb now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Hey, who stole my mom's recipe! Sometimes I add a sprinkle of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by dbarrieau
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Good news: I really loved the flavor of this pie!! I added 1/2 cup of raspberries and 1/2 cup strawberries to the over full 4 cups of rubarb and it was great!! Now the not so good news: It was never mentioned that you should NOT use a convection oven or if you do to make adjustments - so I had my crust burnt pretty bad - see the picture. Luckily I checked it after 20 min and pulled it out of the oven. Even though it was rough around the edges- it still tasted amazing. I will make again - what are the rules about using convection ovens on this pie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I personally really do not like rhubarb anything, but I made this for family members who do, and they loved it! It was the easiest pie I've ever made and it made quite and impression on my family. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Eury Berna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
best pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States