Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is the best pie that I've ever tasted. I made it just as the recipe is given but used purchased refrigerated pie crust. Most pies and desserts here in the south are simply too sweet but this pie is perfect...just sweet enough and allows the flavor of the rhubarb to shine. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I disagree with Sweet Tooth. I made this with home grown rhubarb I'd frozen (8 cups fresh equals 4 cups frozen). I put the sugar on the bottom and the sugar/flour on the top, then place my latice over the top. The sugar/flour just sat there, making a sugar crust under the latice. This could be because frozen rhubarb does not break down as juicily as fresh. I should have mixed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! My husband and I have tons of rhubarb from the community garden so we end up baking this pie about once a week and share with our neighbors. I cut the sugar to make it slightly better for you, and also because I prefer the tartness of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rezal9
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wonderful pie recipe! My kids loved it. The bottom was not soggy, though we found the filling to be a bit tart. Otherwise very good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was my first time ever eating or making rhubarb pie and I was pleasantly surprised. I will be making this again, however with inreased spices for a bit of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
delicious and so easy to make. definitely brush the top with egg white and sprinkle sugar while baking. If using frozen rhubarb, make sure to thaw well and squeeze out all the excess water before uisng!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I am very happy with this pie. I made my brother a pie using this recipe, pie crust IV recipe from this site, & a crumble topping from Martha Stewart. He states "BEST PIE EVER"... which makes it all worth it! I used 16oz frozen rhubarb. I didn't taste it myself and that's the only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very good flavor. My husband is the pie baker in the family, so he actually baked the pie. Don't do what we did though. We purchased the rhubarb in advance, and froze it. Was a little mushy. Will be making it again, only not freezing the rhubarb the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeisLord

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
For a basic Rhubarb pie it doesn't get much better or easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I did the recipe exactly as it says, except for the butter, and it turned out great! It has a nice tartness to it, which I feel most people stay away from. Also, it's very easy to make. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States