Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Was not impressed with this at all, was strangely both too tart and too sweet at the same time. The too tart part could be because it was the first rhubarb of the year here, so am planning on giving this another try later in the year with less sugar, but will make a mini pie just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The only thing I changed is to use only 1 cup of sugar, I like mine just a little tart, and I whip up an egg and add it to the rhubarb to help it set a little. I also used tapioca in place of half of the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmila111
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I really loved this recipe because it was easy and delicious. It was a hit in our home! I used frozen rhubarb and defrosted it, which turned out great. The only alteration I would make is using less sugar (next time I will probably use 1 cup instead of 1 1/3) as I also like to pair my pies with vanilla bean ice cream and that's just too much sweet. My boyfriend on the other hand thought it was perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmila111

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by btrx
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This pie turned out incredible. I made my own crust using the recipe on this sure labeled "mom's double pie crust" and it was all such a breeze. This was my first time ever making a pie and I was surprised at how easy and delicious if turned out to be. Will definitely make this again. Don't change anything-I made the recipe exactly as written and other than the crust burning slightly at the edges during the initial 15 minute bake-it was perfect. I think my oven may rub a bit high-I'm blaming the burnt edges on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nayann68
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fantastic!!!! I made this pie for my dad and he now hits me up for one all the time. Make it exactly as recipe states. I didn't change anything. The flour holds this pie together perfect. Nothing comes running out when cut :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I would definitely not skimp on the rhubarb because you want a full pie. Very yummy and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is simply the BEST rhubarb pie you will ever taste. It is not difficult to make and it beats any store/ restaurant bought pie. Hands down the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHALTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made the pie yesterday morning, and my husband and I enjoyed it at dinner. I made it exactly as the recipe stated using Pillsbury pie crust. I put the sugar/flour on the bottom and resisted the urge to mix the remaining mixture as I normally would do. As another reviewer mention, the lattice crust was sweet and crispy. My pie was not watery. The pie was not too sweet at all. I THAWED two bags of garden grown rhubarb over night. When I drained the bags in the morning, I had well over 1 1/2 of liquid. My pie was still moist but anything but runny which is what usually happens when I use fresh rhubarb. Try this recipe - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Taste delicious!!!! But I don't know why mine turned out runny. I followed the recipe exactly, what do you think I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
BEST PIE IVE EVER HAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States