Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is the best rhubarb pie recipe I've found. I make a 10" pie, so I use 7 cups of rhubarb, 1 2/3 c sugar, 8 Tbsp flour, and 1 Tbsp butter. Make it just as the recipe calls and you will not be disappointed. Pair it with a scoop of vanilla bean iced cream and one serving may not be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
make sure you mound the rhubarb, and mound the sugar mixture on top without mixing or jiggling it to distribute. Also, put a pan under it to catch the drips so you dont have to clean the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaheath1
Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Just like my grandmother's pie! The only changes I made were to decrease the sugar to 1 cup and add a bit of nutmeg. My grandmother always dotted the top of her fruit pies with butter (under the top crust as the recipe states) and it really brings out the flavor. I agree with the other reviewers-do not mix the fruit in the sugar mixture. Doing it as the recipe states gives you a perfect (not soggy) bottom crust. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The best pie I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this pie and it was the best rhubarb pie that I have every made, plus it was so easy. thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I've always been fearful of making a rhubarb pie, because I just knew I couldn't do it like my Momma! I made this for a party and everyone loved it, but it was not *exactly* like my mother's. (It tasted more like a cherry pie to me.) So the next time I made it, I used SIX cups of thinly sliced rhubarb. This time it was perfect ... just the right amount of tartness and sweet. Thank you for this recipe, it has really taken me back in time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Ive used this recipe many times and always get compliments. When i make it for myself, i only use one cup of sugar. I like it tart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe is terrific! I used a Pillsbury crust, and added some cinnamon (maybe 1/4 t) to the sugar/flour mixture. I didn't want to overdo the cinnamon. The pie was delicious. It is very similar to my mother's recipe but just more rhubarb. Simple is often better, and this pie is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Simple, great instructions and perfect. Following the advice of SweetTooth, did not add the butter = only change. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Everyone loved this pie! Super easy, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States