Fresh Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Made recipe as stated. It was not juicy and had too much flour. This time I have reduced the flour to1/4 cup(4 T), added grated orange peel, and about 2 T of the orange's juice. We will see the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My 11 year old son was determined to make this pie by himself, never having done anything like this before. This was the best pie! (and not just because I'm his mom) We will be making this pie again and will try different fruits and see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It is hands down the best rhubarb pie I've ever had! I agree with the reviewers who reinforce NOT mixing the sugar/flour with rhubarb beforehand! The sugar on top and bottom of filling makes a wonderful sweet crispy crust that makes this pie extra delicious!! Made it exactly as above and would not change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I've only ever had strawberry rhubarb pie but the strawberries at the store were awful!! So...was looking for something w/just the rhubarb. Saw the reviews and gave it a try. My 12 year old loved it! Thought it tasted a little like apple pie. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Excellent -- this made the crispest bottom crust I've ever had in a pie. The key is in the way that the sugar/ flour mixture is divided and placed. Genius! My husband thought it was the best rhubarb he had ever had (and he grew up with rhubarb bushes and will not concede this on any other pie over his mother's amazing pies). I like my rhubarb pie a bit more tart so I will reduce the sugar slightly next time, but my family thought it was perfect just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very good, very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Great recipe! Made this into a crisp as well and it is great. Took this to a party and I overheard one guest say it was so good he wanted to lick out the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I placed in a 4th of July pie baking contest 2 years in a row with this pie!! Absolutely awesome. My picky family even loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Ok maybe it is just me I made this exactly as the recipe said and was very disappointed in the after taste from the flour might try again with tapioca. Sorry it was not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is the best rhubarb pie recipe I've found. I make a 10" pie, so I use 7 cups of rhubarb, 1 2/3 c sugar, 8 Tbsp flour, and 1 Tbsp butter. Make it just as the recipe calls and you will not be disappointed. Pair it with a scoop of vanilla bean iced cream and one serving may not be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States