Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A GREAT RECIEPE. IT TURNED OUT PERFECT. I REALLY LIKED USING THE HONEY IN PLACE OF SUGAR. IT WAS THE BEST. EVEN MY HUSBAND WHO DOES'NT LIKE PUMPKIN HAD 2 PIECES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
I have made this one several times. I have never had such reviews. Using less spices than most, it has a fresher, lighter, and creamier taste than other recipes. The honey adds to the special taste and texture. BTW- I dont use fresh pumpkin. I have substituted the canned variety, and it is still wonderful. I wholeheartedly recommend this recipe for folks who like lighter tasting pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Very Very delicious. My whole family enjoyed it. It was a simple yet decadent dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This recipe was great. I was worried that it would turn out runny or bland because of the fresh pumpkins and honey but it didn't. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved! From now on this is the only pumpkin pie recipe I will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I enjoyed this receipe very much I subsituted maple sryup instead of honey, it was very good although you really only need 3/4 c of it instead of 1 cup of honey. I also subsituded 1/2 cup of soy milk for milk.... It turned out great.. we tend to like healthy desserts with less suger needed.... enjoy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I was invited to a Huge Thanksgiving Dinner with a bunch of my fiance's friends. After offering to help with the cooking we agreed to make the pies to free up thw oven. Together we choose three types, two pumpkin, one apple. They all came out lovely and delicious, but I have to say this one gets the prize. Several people asked for the recipie and couldn't believe how healthy and veggie it was. I used 3/4 cup Honey and 1/2 cup Soy milk as a substitute, and pumped up some of the spices to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This pie came out perfect. It tasted even better after being in the fridge overnight. The kids loved helping make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I have made this one several times now. It has become a holiday favorite in our family. I love the lighter taste the honey gives. It was a little scary the first time, as the unbaked filling looks awfully thin and runny, but it has baked up perfectly each and every time. The only modification I have ever made is adding extra cinnamon to taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Great recipe and so glad it uses honey. I took this to my pastor's house for dinner and the whole family LOVED it. This recipe is my new standard pumpkin pie recipe. It's healthy and VERY good. However, there is an easier way to cook pumpkin for pie. Slash three slices in the pumpkin, put in the oven on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 until knife inserts easily. Then let cool, cut in half, and scoop out seeds. Then scoop out flesh and process. It's THE best way to cook pumpkin and preserves the most vitamins. If you want to roast the seeds cut a lid, remove the seeds, and cook the same. Cooked pumpkins are much easier to slice and work with than raw, which are as hard as mount rushmore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the BEST pumpkin pie I've had. If you want to "taste" the pumpkin and not have it overwhelmed this is the recipe for you. I cut the honey back to 3/4 cup and boiled the pumpkin instead of baking it, it was faster and easier. I read pages of reviews before I decided which pumpkin pie recipe to try - YUMOLA!!! I like fresh, I will never buy canned pumpkin again! After all, I live close to Chez Panise where fresh, good, seasonal produce is IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States