Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Great recipe and so glad it uses honey. I took this to my pastor's house for dinner and the whole family LOVED it. This recipe is my new standard pumpkin pie recipe. It's healthy and VERY good. However, there is an easier way to cook pumpkin for pie. Slash three slices in the pumpkin, put in the oven on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 until knife inserts easily. Then let cool, cut in half, and scoop out seeds. Then scoop out flesh and process. It's THE best way to cook pumpkin and preserves the most vitamins. If you want to roast the seeds cut a lid, remove the seeds, and cook the same. Cooked pumpkins are much easier to slice and work with than raw, which are as hard as mount rushmore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This recipe makes enough filling for TWO 9" pies. I use 2/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup Lyle's Golden Syrup which makes it sublime. It's spectacular made with FRESH ginger. Really the best pumpkin pie I've ever had! I freeze leftover pureed pumpkin in 2-cup portions in ziploc bags so it's handy to use for more pies or pumpkin bread later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is the BEST pumpkin pie I've had. If you want to "taste" the pumpkin and not have it overwhelmed this is the recipe for you. I cut the honey back to 3/4 cup and boiled the pumpkin instead of baking it, it was faster and easier. I read pages of reviews before I decided which pumpkin pie recipe to try - YUMOLA!!! I like fresh, I will never buy canned pumpkin again! After all, I live close to Chez Panise where fresh, good, seasonal produce is IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This recipe was awesome. My husband said it was fantastic. I did a couple of changes. I used a regular pumpkin like the kids get on a pumpkin patch field trip. I strained the pumpkin in cheesecloth, which made the pie perfect. I did not use the spices in the recipe since more then a few commented it was bland I simply used 2tsp of pumpkin spice and it turned out just the right spice. I thought it was perfectly sweet with the honey. Also 55 minutes with foil around crust edge was perfect. It made two whole 9in pies for me. A must keep recipe THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
WOW! That was sooooooo good! When I mixed everything together, it was very runny. I didn't think it would turn out, but it did! And it was great! Thanks for the great recipe! It was my first time making pumpkin pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
nothing like fresh pumpkin pie. My best tip is to Microwave the fresh pumpkin by piercing it a few times with a serving fork or something long and sharp. place pumpkin in a plate because it can ooze. for a large pumpkin, 10 on high minutes per pound works great. If you microwave 2 smaller ones together it gets tricky with time, you will need to experiment. cook til skin is soft and impressionable. LET COOL before scooping out seeds (save 'em to roast and salt and put in candy dishes) or scooping out the meet. the pumpkin will be much easier/less messy to deal with when cooled. Second hint: cover fluting on your pie crust with file or aluminum rings throughout baking. that temp. is high, they will burn. I find that it manages to brown through the foil, but if not, remove foil last 5-7 minutes of baking. yummy! Oh, also try serving with CARMEL CINAMON ice cream (or carmel ice cream sprinkiled with cinnamon, yummy plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is the best pumpkin pie ever!!! Do put in at least double the spices and personally I think it's sweet enough. MMmmm Mmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I like that this recipe uses all natural ingredients, and tastes great! I use less honey than the recipe calls for (3/4 c) I have also made it using 1/2 c honey and 1/4 c maple syrup, and it added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I have made this one several times now. It has become a holiday favorite in our family. I love the lighter taste the honey gives. It was a little scary the first time, as the unbaked filling looks awfully thin and runny, but it has baked up perfectly each and every time. The only modification I have ever made is adding extra cinnamon to taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
just a tad bit too much honey. almost overwhelming but just almost. everyone raved at thanksgiving and this will become a holiday habit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States