Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. Because of all the commentary I doubled the spices and used 3/4 cup of ACACIA honey (the lightest and most mild flavored) and my pie was awesome. I also added a dash of ground cloves and some nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janette
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious. The honey adds a great flavor. A little less than one cup would be fine, I used the whole amount and it was sweet but not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Really tasty, really easy. The truly surprising thing was that this recipe made the EXACT amount of filling I needed for a nine-inch pie. The only problem I had was that some of the eggs weren't fully incorporated and we ended up with some little white bits in the finished product. But it was still delicious. I didn't have much honey so I substituted maple syrup, and I used butternut squash puree instead of pumpkin because I had a ton of that. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have been making this for three years now. I generally double the spices and I have cut the honey in half before, with no compromise of deliciousness. I love it and feel no need to look for another recipe. Ever. Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Tried this for my first attempt at pumpkin pie and it came out great! Perfect amount of sweetness and spices. I like that it uses all fresh ingredients. I'm going to make it again for sure, this time in a bigger dish as I had some filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I make a couple changes.... 3/4 cup honey and changed the spices to the Libby's recipe, see below. 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Easier than I thought to make fresh pumpkin puree! Nice! I subbed in Almond Milk and Silk Creamer for a non-dairy pie (allergies) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe for my first ever homemade pumpkin pie! I altered the recipe slightly. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg & 1/2 tsp allspice, I substituted the milk and heavy cream for 1 c of Lactose free milk. I also mashed the pumpkin which gave it a very hearty texture, which was very nice. I would puree it for that very smooth store-bought texture. I used the whole sugar pumpkin (not just 2 cups) and the recipe made 2 very yummy pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Not the best pumpkin pie I've ever had, but good. I always make a recipe as written the first time if I intend to rate it, which was the case here. I think the only thing I did difference was add a sprinkle of cloves. To make it better, hold back on the honey. It was a little overwhelming, and add some extra spices. The pie cooks and sets just fine, even though it seems like it would be too runny when you mix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
It's asking for way too much salt. I can't give it more than 3 out of 5. It was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States