Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this pie and really easy to make. Turned out perfect and can use all natural ingredients makes it all the better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It was amazing. My sister in law and mother in law both said THIS is the pumpkin pie we will now have whenever we have pumpkin pie. Funny because other reviewers said they got that feedback too! I cooked a small pumpkin like as described, then scooped out the insides (minus the seeds which I roasted - also yum) let it cool, pureed it with a hand blender, and then squeezed out all of the liquid through cheesecloth. That left a little bit more than 2 cups but I used it all. I also increased the spices (and added nutmeg and cloves) and reduced the honey to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup maple syrup (several reviewers suggested this). Turned out perfect. I also noticed that the filling was a typical consistency (others said that it was very liquidy) so maybe that had to do with squeezing out the liquid? It also made just enough for 1 pie. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Best pumpkin pie EVER! The only thing I changed was to add a pinch of allspice and a bit more cinnamon. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Cali.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I am new to baking and cooking altogether ... I made this recipe exactly only skipping the salt. It's amazing and my husband who is a picky eater inhales it!!!! I made this last year 200 times and could locate the recipe I was just googling it for hours and finally FINALLY found it. Enjoy it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Its too sweet with the full amount of honey. Starts to taste like egg with the full amount of egg. Use only 1/2 cup honey and/or maple syrup. Only use 2 to 3 eggs. Used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream or 1 cup half and half instead of milk and cream. Makes 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
If you use canned pumpkin, you have no idea what you are missing. This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This recipe helped me through my first, from scratch pumpkin pie! The Cinderella pumpkin I had, had to cook for quite a bit longer, perhaps because of it's massive size. The balance of all the spices added in this recipe along with that fresh baked pumpkin, it was worth it! I kept seeing those cans on sale around T'giving thinking, "Hmm...should I grab those just to be safe?" I didn't to force myself to use my uncut Halloween pumpkin. Even though by the time I was to puree my pumpkin, my Cuisinart mixer of 12 years finally decided to die, (had to run out with just 15 min to spare-Thanks to Sur La Table for staying open till 9pm night before T'giving!) had to buy a new processor. I made two pies and everyone just, "Mmmmmed!" and "Ahhhhed" over this pie! I have to agree. It was out of this world, hands down best pumpkin pie I have ever had! Worth all the effort. Next year, I know I won't have electronic issues and my confidence in baking the pumpkin is there, that this will be a cinch next time! Definitely give this one a WHIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LH28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a great pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is the BEST pumpkin pie! My son's favorite is pumpkin and now he wants only this pie, (not canned pumpkin). It is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I hate to be one of those people who didn't follow the recipe -- but I changed it. I had just one small pie plate, so after adding the spices to two cups of mashed pumpkin, I stirred in 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup cream, and three eggs. That made more than enough filling for one pie. It was delicious! My mom said it was one of the best pumpkin pies she has eaten. From a previous experience making pie from fresh pumpkin, make sure you scrape ALL of the stringy stuff off before cooking, because that stuff has a terrible texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States