Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Thanx to this recipe everyone's been raving about my Thanksgiving pies! I doubled the spices & that was the only adjustment. I used the recipe from this site for the best pie crust and it was delicious! Will be making again for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA
Living In: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Finally! A recipe that doesn't use evaporated milk! A tip - if you don't want to use ground spices, simmer your whole ginger and clove or cinnamon bark in your milk for a few minutes, then you can cool it down for a few minutes in the freezer before straining into your pie mix. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My son's first birthday happened to fall on Thanksgiving this year so I made him this pumpkin pie instead of a sugary cake. He LOVED it. I also made 3 others which I gave to family and friends and they all said that it was the best pumpkin pie they had ever had. Note that if you do not like pulp, you may not like the consistency of this pie as you could definetly taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
OK - but with mine, the honey overtook any taste of pumpkin. I'd cut back on or eliminate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was absolutely thrilled with the way this pie turned out. The filling would never have fit in one pan, though. I split it between two pans and used the Best Ever Pie Crust also from Allrecipes.com. Note: the filling seemed really thin, but thickened beautifully as it baked. I will use this as my new standard pumpkin pie. My entire family thanks you for the wonderful recipe! It is well worth the effort to use fresh baked pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Pence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very good, added nutmeg too, doubled all spices. One decent size pumpkins makes like 4 pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I love the honey in this one. It makes it naturally sweet. I also omitted the milk and used all heavy whipping cream. This recipe is my new pumpkin pie standard committed to memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
love the way the honey makes this turnout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chicchick
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was good - I would highly recommend doubling the spices like the other reviews said. It gave is such a nice spice smell and flavor. I also added 1/2 tsp. vanilla. What's nice about this pie is that is is fresh and it is firm and tastes good with all the spices. I use the basic flakey pie crust recipe for all my pies - GREAT CRUST recipe. Made up fresh whipped cream and decorated top of pie to finish it. also I used a 9 in. pie plate and still had a little extra pumpkin filling left which can be used to make a mini pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was WONDERFUL! I love using honey vs. refined sugar. I used one can canned pumpkin instead of the fresh in this recipe, and one cup of half-n-half instead of the cream and milk called for. Also tripled the spices as suggested by other reviewers. Next time I will use a bit less salt as well (maybe 1/2 teaspoon). SO GOOD with homemade whipped cream. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States