Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe precisely he first time. It was lovely! The second time, I messed with it a lot to make 'breakfast pie' for our kids. Instead of the 1c of honey, I used 1/2 c of overripe pears and 1/2c of honey and maple syrup mixed. Instead of heavy cream and milk, I used 1c of 2% milk. I also added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla to enhance the sweetness. Finally, I think I added a bit more spice to taste. It still turned out super yummy, and I felt better about it as a breakfast pie! Next time, I may try 1/4c honey/maple, with 3/4 cup overripe pear/applesauce. If I do, I'll let you know how it turns out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was so delicious! Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving and said it tasted like real pumpkin. A couple of notes: I upped the spices. I used 1 t cinnamon, 1 t nutmeg, and 1 t fresh grated ginger. I also shorted the honey a little and added a couple T real maple syrup and a splash of black molasses. I followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and yielded enough to make an 11-inch pie. Also, I followed the advice in WILSONWIFE's review (thank you!) and roasted the pumpkin whole the night before. It was so easy to work with and cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I don't change a thing . I have used this recipe for years. My family won't eat any other. Dont let the runnyness scare you it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Like other reviewers I used more spice (2 tsp pumpkin pie spice). I also switched from honey to sugar. I used 1 cup milk, no cream. Turned out really nice and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this pie and really easy to make. Turned out perfect and can use all natural ingredients makes it all the better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It was amazing. My sister in law and mother in law both said THIS is the pumpkin pie we will now have whenever we have pumpkin pie. Funny because other reviewers said they got that feedback too! I cooked a small pumpkin like as described, then scooped out the insides (minus the seeds which I roasted - also yum) let it cool, pureed it with a hand blender, and then squeezed out all of the liquid through cheesecloth. That left a little bit more than 2 cups but I used it all. I also increased the spices (and added nutmeg and cloves) and reduced the honey to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup maple syrup (several reviewers suggested this). Turned out perfect. I also noticed that the filling was a typical consistency (others said that it was very liquidy) so maybe that had to do with squeezing out the liquid? It also made just enough for 1 pie. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Best pumpkin pie EVER! The only thing I changed was to add a pinch of allspice and a bit more cinnamon. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Cali.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I am new to baking and cooking altogether ... I made this recipe exactly only skipping the salt. It's amazing and my husband who is a picky eater inhales it!!!! I made this last year 200 times and could locate the recipe I was just googling it for hours and finally FINALLY found it. Enjoy it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Its too sweet with the full amount of honey. Starts to taste like egg with the full amount of egg. Use only 3/4 cup honey and 2 eggs. Used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of milk and cream. Fills pie pan to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
If you use canned pumpkin, you have no idea what you are missing. This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States