Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was amazing - the fresh pineapple and pineapple juice along with beating the egg whites and folding in, make a superb cake. Making it again for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this cake today, but it came out gooy. The cake was undone, just as raw as when I poured it into the pan. The brown sugar mixture ran over and started a fire in the oven. I have been baking and cooking for over 50 years, first time this has happened to me. I did use can pineapple packed in 100% pineapple juice from Del Monte. I thought this would be okay, apparently not. The kitchen note said to be sure to use canned juice. Does that mean canned juice from the juice isle and not the juice from the canned pineapple? Very disappointed. I won't be making this again, going back to my mom's recipe, that one never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter!!!! The bottom did not bake as well as the top even though the top sprang back when touched. When I flipped it over ( making the bottom the top ) it was raw in the middle but not around the outer edges. IF ( and that is a big if ) I ever try this recipe again, I will bake for 45 min at 375 not the 30 min at 400 as instructed. VERY disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I did not have Pineapple jucie so I used milk instead in the batter. MAJOR FAIL!!! dont use milk and maybe I beat the egg white too much not sure cake was very dry and not flavorful at all middle did not get done either, so I cut it out and made it look like I did it in a bunt pan. It looked good but not good. I will try again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaun Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This recipe turned out wonderfully. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. Then I made it into six large muffin sized cakes. Perfect and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige Lakind
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Good, would like more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Lakind

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Simply the best! I like to bake cakes from scratch NOT from a box and this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! My first time whipping eggs like this. Everything came out perfectly. Perfect for holiday or any sunday dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Do NOT be intimidated by all the steps. Well worth it. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Acosta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States