Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good cake! Turned out very well for this being my first pineapple upside down cake. It was a huge hit with my family. Will definitely make this again. Happy eating!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
OMG....I've made this several times now. It is amazing. and the best part is that you have all the ingredients at hand most of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! I used it to make pineapple upside down cake for the first time and it came out perfect. The second time I made it I added a can of crushed pineapple to the cake mix. I drained the juice out of the can first and then added the pineapple. I also added marachino cherries to my topping. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent finished product!! I bake a lot, and always from scratch, but this was my first attempt at pineapple upside down cake. I followed the recipe exactly except I used a can of crushed pineapple, drained, instead of the fresh pineapple and juice. I LOVED the pineapple on top after the cake was finished. I baked it in a 9 or 10" iron skillet, and ended up with a great firm top and had no problem with runny pineapple glaze. I would do it the same next time, but I think I may add a little cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I gave it 5 stars because it really is a great cake, but I almost gave 4, just because I'm not fond of multiple step recipes. With 3 kids all wanting to help, it was easy to get lost in all the steps. This cake certainly satisfied my 2nd trimester cravings for pineapple upside down cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindymomof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
excellent! the taste was very, very good but there are a few things that need some tweaking. first, i agree with another reviewer that the egg whites should be beaten right before adding them in. also, once i inverted the cake i noticed that the topping was quite soupy so i followed another reviewer's recommendation to broil the top a bit to firm things up. otherwise this is an excellent recipe and it's going in my recipe box! p.s. i served this at a birthday party and there were compliments all around! :) p.s. don't forget when making this with fresh pineapple that you will need to buy pineapple juice as well! i was so used to making a PUDC with canned pineapple (where you don't have to buy the juice because it's already with the pineapple) that i forgot to buy some! i ended up using apricot juice and nobody was the wiser. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I read alot of the reviews on this recipe,i was hesitant about trying it,in the end i wasnt pleased,i wont be keeping this one in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
my 4yr old daughter helped me make this recipe. She loved it and it was easy to make. She kept telling her grandparents that it was healthy for them because it had fruit in it! I don't know about that but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this recipe with a few changes, I made a burre noisette with the butter to add a nuttier flavor and i used a bit more vanilla extract, and I got a dense but moist and flavorful cake. it is a simple recipe and i would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake turned out fantastically! I was able to use a fresh pineapple and squeeze enough juice out of the peel for the 3/4 cup. I baked it in a 10 inch cast iron pan and it made it easy to turn out onto the serving plate. I had beginner's luck with this one and used light brown sugar since that's all I had on hand and we were snowed in. Great smelling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used canned pineapple but otherwise followed the recipe and it was absolutely the most delicious cake I've had! Moist, flavorful and the crispy edges are great. My husband *had* to have a second piece. Will make again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States